PDX Garage Workshop Questions - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 01:21 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post

To protect the conductors inside, you can get a smaller piece of pipe to slide down inside the pipe you want to cut, the conductors would be protected inside this piece.
I'm not sure this will work for me, but it's a great idea and I thank you for it.

Advertisement

stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 08:47 AM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


If the clearance from the wall is adequate I would use a tubing cutter. An electrical supply house is your best bet for the cable. Big box stores are not likely to have it.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:43 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


I have been unable to work for the past few weeks, but here is the latest work done:

I raised the electrical entry point on the garage as suggested:



Hole goes right to panel:



Fully blocked off:



The grounding rods are in:





Here's the panel in the garage. If anyone sees any problems, *PLEASE* say something!



Here's the entry into the house:




Here's the interior of the house entry, showing the junction box I intend to use to move to NM wire. I'll be using #2 gauge wire, shown below:





(the blue here in the conduit is a tarp covering the entry from the weather for now.)


Last edited by stewlg; 09-03-2010 at 11:46 AM.
stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:44 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Also, a particular question:

Is it OK to use 12 gauge wire on a 15 amp socket as shown, so long as the breaker is 15 amp as well?

stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 12:07 AM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by stewlg View Post
Also, a particular question:

Is it OK to use 12 gauge wire on a 15 amp socket as shown, so long as the breaker is 15 amp as well?

Yeah as long it is duplex it is not a issue at all and just make sure that all the 120 volts circuits are RCD { GFCI } protected { the 2008 NEC code did remove all the extempts unless local code override }

Singleplex that is diffrent story they are far more picky on that.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 04:40 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


I haven't been able to find a good example of a junction box this large, or of this type, so I would very much appreciate if people could let me know I've done this correctly or not.

Meaning, if I've done this *right*, please let me know with a quick post along the lines "Yeah, that looks fine." (I'm hoping silence has been golden on the last bunch of posts, but I'd feel much better if I had at least a few grunts and nods from the audience.)

If something is wrong, please let me know as well of course.

Roughing in:



Is this connector OK for a plastic junction box? I could not find anything that was plastic that would seem to be appropriate. If I should be using something else, please let me know what it is, and (hopefully) show me a picture or something.





Wire nuts for splices:





I wrapped all the nuts in many layers of electrical tape. (I did the ground too, after I took this shot, just to protect the splices from abrasion from each other during the shoving needed to get everything into the box.)



Into the box:



Box closed:

stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 12:54 AM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Is this junction box is inside or outside of the building if inside it not too bad but make sure you staple the cable first 8 to 12 inches away from the box.

Is that box is 6X6X4 ? if so what size conductor you have them in there and look not too bad at all.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:39 AM   #23
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


If that j-box is in a wet location that box connector needs to be replaced with a watertight one or the cable needs to enter the box from below.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:48 AM   #24
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Raceways, other than busways or exposed raceways having hinged or removable covers, shall be installed complete between outlet, junction, or other splicing points prior to the installation of conductors.
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 09:37 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Is this junction box is inside or outside of the building if inside it not too bad but make sure you staple the cable first 8 to 12 inches away from the box.

Is that box is 6X6X4 ? if so what size conductor you have them in there and look not too bad at all.

Merci.
Marc
Yes, it is a 6x6x4. I was following Brric's suggestion from earlier in the thread:
"Bring your conduit into the house to a 6" x 6" pvc j-box and transition to NM cable or SER and use that to go to your house panel."

The cables are fastened to the wall. I need to add one or two brackets closer to the box, but I was waiting until I felt confident the box was completely OK. Here's a shot for context:



The wire in the exterior conduit is #3 gauge. The wire in the thick black NM cable is #2 gauge (I could not find an NM cable like this with #3 wire.)

Brric says:
"If that j-box is in a wet location that box connector needs to be replaced with a watertight one or the cable needs to enter the box from below."
This is the interior of my basement, as you can see in the above shot. It is not a wet location in any way, it is a dry section of the basement.

This is the exterior (the electrical wires have since been routed through to the junction box and the cover closed, I just don't have a picture of it.)



Busman says:
"Raceways, other than busways or exposed raceways having hinged or removable covers, shall be installed complete between outlet, junction, or other splicing points prior to the installation of conductors."
I think I understand what this means, but clearly I don't since it seems like you are pointing out a problem. I have a complete run of conduit between the garage panel and this junction box, which is in the interior of my basement.

If there's a problem please tell me specifically what you are talking about so I can hopefully fix it. I also have an NEC handbook (the code with interleaved explanations), so if you tell me what section of code you are quoting I can look at that.

So, with those clarifications, am I OK? Not OK?

Last edited by stewlg; 09-07-2010 at 09:41 AM.
stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 09:48 AM   #26
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


I mentioned this because there was talk of methods to cut the conduit with the conductors already inside. I just posted the code rule that prohibits that practice.

Mark
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 10:17 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
I mentioned this because there was talk of methods to cut the conduit with the conductors already inside. I just posted the code rule that prohibits that practice.

Mark
Oh, I see! Thank you for the clarification.
stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 11:11 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PDX Garage Workshop questions


House 200 amp panel as I found it:



After wiring in the NM run:





Hopefully nothing wrong there, but let me know if there is.

Advertisement

stewlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Door Questions: closing sides and safety reversal jage Building & Construction 10 11-10-2009 08:57 AM
Insulating Garage / Workshop with Free Foam? PaulBob Building & Construction 2 12-05-2008 05:12 PM
New detached garage, wiring, questions gp_wa Electrical 9 12-04-2008 04:10 PM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 01:04 PM
Garage Workshop Conversion Talos4 General DIY Discussions 15 02-01-2007 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts