Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 84
Share |
Default

Patio Post Lamp Wiring


I am looking at re-wiring a post lamp and nearby outlet on a patio that was built in 1952. The wires had been run through a 1/2 inch rigid conduit which is now embeded in the concrete slab. At some time, the original metal lamp post (about 1-1/4 inch in diameter) rusted out near the bottom, and a new (2-1/2 inch "modern" plastic) lamp post and metal lamp head were installed. The old post sticks up slightly above the concrete level inside the base of the new lamp post.

The wires from the old lamp were not long enough and so a piece of zip cord was run from wire nuts on the old wiring up to the lamp head. The conduit also has a nearby, 2-wire outlet connected to it. The wiring in the conduit may have been upgraded at some time since it is an ungrounded UF wire, and I don't think UF was available at the time the patio was installed.

There are two seperate pieces of 14-2 UF pulled through the 1/2 inch pipe -- one to the outlet, one to the lamp post. I was wondering if I could pull out the UF and replace it with 14 gauge THHN, which I would pull all the way from the basement juction box to the lamp head. I would also re-wire the outlet at the same time, installing a GFIC outlet.

Questions:
1. Can I run the THHN wires inside the (plastic) lamp post?
2. Should I pull a seperate ground wire for the metal lamp head fixture?
3. Should the lamp be switched over to a GFIC circuit?
4. Should I run a seperate ground wire to the outlet?

Perry401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Patio Post Lamp Wiring


Well #1 NO...you need THWN for wet locations.
#2 YES
#3 You can....but gfci's are generally for receptacles.
#4 YES The receptacle needs a ground and should be gfci protected.

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 04:21 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Patio Post Lamp Wiring


One ground wire is all you need, not two.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiling vertical post kellyharris15 Flooring 12 02-22-2011 03:28 PM
Wood Patio Cover Post Grounding Madracki Electrical 10 07-04-2009 02:49 PM
Electric receptacle in lamp post and flood light not working th31 Electrical 7 12-13-2007 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.