Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 01:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Share |
Default

Passing wire to another panel


I have 2 150amp panels tied together with a 2" PVC nipple (less than 3" long). The first panel is the main panel, and the second is a sub panel with a 100 amp 2 pole breaker in the main panel. I have fed the sub panel with #2 copper for the 2 hots and the neutral, and a #6 for the ground bus bar in the sub panel. All these wires pass between the two panels via the 2" PVC nipple.

Can I use the remaining space in the 2" conduit to pass circuit conductors through from the main panel into the subpanel to move some circuits into the sub panel? This would be rather than re-routing the wire on the outside of the panel over to the sub panel, covering up the open holes on the main panel, re-stapling the wire, etc. I'd only be looking to move a couple circuits, maybe 3 or 4 total.

Mainly I need to create a little space to connect another subpanel off the main panel to feed the attached garage at some point, and to connect some additional circuits for my server room. I can physically move the cables coming into the top of the panel over to the sub panel, but I'd rather not if I can avoid it.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Passing wire to another panel


I would, no problem.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Passing wire to another panel


It would be a good idea to label the branch circuit neutrals going through the nipple into the subpanel (but not with colored bands of tape). Otherwise you won't be able to match them up with the hots without tracing back through the main panel to the respective cables.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Passing wire to another panel


I would too. It's legal.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Passing wire to another panel


Do the neutrals for these circuits have to pass onto to the sub panel? (I think they have to) If not this makes it a lot easier since most of the neutrals would be too short to move over with out extending them (which I know you can do inside the panel). I think I'll be able to make most of the hot wires reach with out having to extend them, I can probably just move a couple circuits from the bottom of the main panel to the top of the new panel.

How many circuits (mostly looking at 20 amp circuits) can I legally pass through this 2" conduit with the 3x 2 gauge and 1x 6 gauge wires feeding the new panel? Like I said in my earlier post, I probably only need to move about 3 or 4 circuits, but in the event I need to move more later it'd be nice to know what my limit is.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 11:09 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Passing wire to another panel


Basically with that short peice of pipe you are describing there is no limit due you are way under the 24 inch limit but if you have any branch circuit that will go from the main box to subpanel for some reason make sure you mark it so you can able troubeshoot it later.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Panel ground and wire size tns1 Electrical 25 09-18-2009 02:53 PM
Grounding a mess! CapnSteubing Electrical 13 08-31-2009 10:07 AM
Wire size for Sub panel DaleB Electrical 13 09-18-2008 12:28 AM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.