Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 03:23 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,969
Rewards Points: 3,054
Default

partial power outage


Odd that we have at least three differant poster today all having power problums that all could be cause from incoming power and not one registered with there location.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #17
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Odd that we have at least three differant poster today all having power problums that all could be cause from incoming power and not one registered with there location.
and all with the same user name
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:30 PM   #18
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


i apologize I am a new user . sorry.
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:37 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,969
Rewards Points: 3,054
Default

partial power outage


Have you called the power company yet to check incoming power?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 03:39 PM   #20
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


on hold with them now
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:45 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

partial power outage


Merged you threads.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 04:49 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

partial power outage


I'm gonna make a WAG. You got a problem with your neutral between your panel box and meter base. This is a serious issue, and can cause lots of damage. if you get no satisfaction from the power company. Call a qualified electrician quick.

Yes, this is a DIY site. But I just don't think your ready to get involved with pulling the meter and checking. In some areas, only the power company and licensed electricians are allowed to pull it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #23
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


i have to call the power company back first thing in the morning was told no appointments for checks made after three pm. i hope this problem can be fixed asap. all plugs switches and breakers have been checked and tested . its so strange the power did this the first time on new years eve and corrected itself in minutes and a few days ago it started again. now it will go out from 5 min - an hour or two and then kick back on ??? gonna go to the power company at 8am when they open
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:17 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bj1 View Post
i am experiencing a partial power outage when my hvac unit kicks on . It will not turn on immediately but will cause power to go out in only some of the house. once the unit does kick on the power restores its self what could be causing this problem ?
Please elaborate on "partial power outage"
does it go out completely ?
or just dipp down a bit ?
for how long ?

Sounds like an poor connecttion or overloaded phase.
If your end checks out ok,
then call POCO as it's most likely there problem !

Please let us know the out come ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 06:47 PM   #25
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


By partial. I mean power is going out only in some areas kitchen plugs out but light on bedroom light out but plugs work. Had all plugs and switches checked no problem. Hvac unit out. I hope the Power company comes tomorrow. All breakers have also been tested. Its so frustrating and scary. I will be sure to keep u posted. If you have any suggestions I haven't mentioned please share. That's so much.

Last edited by bj1; 02-11-2013 at 06:52 PM. Reason: more information
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:16 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

partial power outage


Sounds like a really loose connecttion somewhere.
Heats up, expands, breaks connecttion.
power stops moving, cools down, sometimes
re-establishing connecttion sometimes not !

Hope its not your end !
could be dangerous !
real potential for fire !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-12-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 10:36 PM   #27
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

partial power outage


It's going to suck, but the best thing to do is turn off the main. If the neutral is bad, you risk frying anything electronic and eliminate the possible risk of fire.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-12-2013)
Old 02-12-2013, 12:10 AM   #28
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


I would call them back and say it's an emergency power situation. Not good to have a bad connection heating up. They have people working all the time tell them to get someone there.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-12-2013)
Old 02-12-2013, 10:30 AM   #29
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


update on partial power outage: power company just left there was a connection at the pole that was burnt . worker said there was just enough juice left in line to only support half the power load of the house and eventually the power would have failed in the whole house. line has been replaced and everything in the house came on with no hesitation . I wanna say thank you for all your help and patience with me being a newbee on the site and your assistance has been priceless and I am very thanful for all your help.
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:40 AM   #30
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


Great happy that they were able to get you going again. It's much nicer when it's on their end and not yours. Much cheaper too.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-12-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asko washer won't stop beeping after power outage marytara Appliances 0 07-07-2012 06:50 PM
Running boiler during power outage? jmhultin HVAC 7 10-31-2011 11:28 AM
All wiring underground, yet power outage...? PCMLR Electrical 2 10-10-2010 10:20 PM
power outage jp66hill Electrical 4 01-22-2006 07:24 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.