Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 11:47 AM   #1
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


duplicate. sorry i am a new user


Last edited by bj1; 02-11-2013 at 03:36 PM. Reason: duplicate
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:03 PM   #2
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


i am experiencing a partial power outage when my hvac unit kicks on . It will not turn on immediately but will cause power to go out in only some of the house. once the unit does kick on the power restores its self what could be causing this problem ?

bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:07 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


You most likely have a bad leg on your electric service. This could be anywhere from where your breaker panel is to the POCO transformer. Definitely good idea to get this checked out before it gets worse.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 12:17 PM   #4
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


so sorry im a new member

Last edited by bj1; 02-11-2013 at 03:28 PM.
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:25 PM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bj1 View Post
i am experiencing a partial power outage when my hvac unit kicks on.
It will not turn on immediately but will cause power to go out in only some of the house.
A few basic questions:
Is this a heat pump as well as AC?
How old is the equipment?
How long has this condition been present?
When was the last time a qualified HVAC mechanic serviced it?
How long sine "Cousin Jerry" touched it?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 12:36 PM   #6
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


1. yes
2. 6 1/2 years old
3. new years eve was the first time it happened
4. in the fall it was serviced year before that hvac company came in a replaced the compressor
5. no cousin jerry work lol
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:21 PM   #7
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


i am experiencing a power outage in only parts of my home. what causes this kind of problem ? Please someone help it is so strange no breaker tripped . and the problem corrects its self some times in a few minutes sometimes a few hours. please help me understand what can be causing this ... it seems like when my heat and air system kicks on the problem starts then other times it kicks on without any problems . and if the power is out when the hvac system comes on everything else does to .
bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:35 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


Nowhere near you. I would start with looking in the phone book.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:36 PM   #9
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

partial power outage


Call an electrician. We can't go in your house and start checking things to troubleshoot it and based on your wording, I'd guess you don't have a lot of troubleshooting experience for situations like this.

However, start with identifying which outlets are on what breakers, then when it happens you have to isolate which circuits are out and trace back to the feed to find out where the circuit is broken. It sounds like it could be a neutral problem to me based on how little info you gave.
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:38 PM   #10
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

partial power outage


Jeez, 3 threads for the same problem?
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:38 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


If I was in your area yes I would help but nowhere near you. You have a bad hot leg in your service from the sounds of this when your furnace kicks on if it's 240v then it causes power to go to the rest of the house. Get an electrician ASAP.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 01:39 PM   #12
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bj1 View Post
i would like a quote for the people that stay out the way. what does your answer mean in simple terms ? i am in bessemer alabama do u service this area
This is not a service provider site, it's a site to help out DIY people. He's in New York if you read his location under his name.

Call an electrician.
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:42 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJETT View Post
This is not a service provider site, it's a site to help out DIY people. He's in New York if you read his location under his name.

Call an electrician.
Yeah big differences in both areas too. I can't go outside of my area due to licensing and insurance requirements.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:00 PM   #14
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

partial power outage


Quote:
Originally Posted by bj1 View Post
1. yes
2. 6 1/2 years old
3. new years eve was the first time it happened
4. in the fall it was serviced year before that hvac company came in a replaced the compressor
5. no cousin jerry work lol
As mentioned in the other thread start by calling the power company.
Confirm if this recent/sudden problem is outside your house or not.

If that proves to be fine... call a different HVAC contractor.
btw... do you recall why they needed to replace a 5yo compressor last year?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
bj1 (02-11-2013)
Old 02-11-2013, 03:19 PM   #15
bj1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: alabama
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

partial power outage


the compressor was faulted and still under warranty so it was replaced at no charge. if the problem is at the meter or on the outside line is that my financial responsibility or the power companies ?

bj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asko washer won't stop beeping after power outage marytara Appliances 0 07-07-2012 06:50 PM
Running boiler during power outage? jmhultin HVAC 7 10-31-2011 11:28 AM
All wiring underground, yet power outage...? PCMLR Electrical 2 10-10-2010 10:20 PM
power outage jp66hill Electrical 4 01-22-2006 07:24 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.