Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 06:03 PM   #1
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Panels and UF wire


Let me first start off that the wiring is NOT in any way permanatly connected to the house service. It is connected with #12ga. SOOW wire and a grounded plug, and plugged into an outlet when needed. Via an exterior outlet, inverter, or generator. It is permanently installed, but at the same time, never physically plugged in and energized unless in use.


- Can UF-B wire be used outside on a tree, feeding a weatherproof outdoor lighting fixture/outlet? Should it be in conduit (metal or pvc)?
I understand trees cannot be used to "aerial run/support" the wire. What type of connector should I use for weatherproof connection if conduit is not needed for the entering of the UF wire into the units?

- Can a weatherproof sub panel be mounted on a tree?

- Can a 240v sub panel be used for 120v only? How would I do that? The panel would be plugged in when needed. The panel really isn't for wire protection, although it would protect it with the 15amp breakers, but more for a weatherproof switch box for controlling the light and outlets.
http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...&storeId=10051

- (Another project, but similar) PVC or metal conduit with THWN, UFB or NMB wire for a shed? I wouldn't think NM-B since the shed is damp a lot (humidity).
Again, plugged in with a another of the same sub panels with #12ga. SOOW.

Background story: The trees part is for a "party area" in my deep back woods. A generator, inverter, or extension cord will be plugged into the panel to feed a floodlight on the tree or 2, and a convenience outlet or 2 for odds and ends. I just figured a sub panel would protect the wiring like it should, and serve as a switch box for lights/outlets/etc. All boxes are weatherproof and made for outdoors.

The shed is the same, except in a separate area. It is used for mostly storage, and small projects. Never anything big. So when I need it, I'll just plug it in.


Last edited by seansy59; 05-29-2012 at 06:05 PM.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Panels and UF wire


I'd probably just forget about the subpanel and use extension cords to power the light/s and use 3-ways on the ends of the cords to plug things into. To control the light/s and outlets, just plug or unplug them.

Just my opinion. Why setup a permanent installation that needs to follow code when you could do it just as well with some inexpensive cords?

Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Panels and UF wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Macro View Post
I'd probably just forget about the subpanel and use extension cords to power the light/s and use 3-ways on the ends of the cords to plug things into. To control the light/s and outlets, just plug or unplug them.

Just my opinion. Why setup a permanent installation that needs to follow code when you could do it just as well with some inexpensive cords?
It's just me. I like to go overboard and do it the best and permanent/professional looking way. The only way I can't do it is permanently hook it up because the run would be too long through woods, gardens, and lawn (200+ft), and I can't dig in the dense woods. I was going to use the sub panels because I have 3 of them already from a friend that bought them and "didn't need them". They would work well for overload protection of the wire/outlets and doing the functions I needed safely since they are for outdoor use also.
Extension cords would start getting brittle and weathered after a year or two around here. The only flexible cord is 5ft or so of the 12ga. SOOW powering the box that would hang up until needed.
But that can easily be replaced quickly after a couple years of use if needed.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Panels and UF wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by seansy59 View Post
It's just me. I like to go overboard and do it the best and permanent/professional looking way.
Well, putting a sub panel on a tree and running exposed UF isn't either one of those, IMO
Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:32 PM   #5
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Panels and UF wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Macro View Post
Well, putting a sub panel on a tree and running exposed UF isn't either one of those, IMO
There would be a board mounted on the tree for the unit(s). I have seen panels and outlets mounted on trees alot. Campgrounds, parks, even my neighbor has a setup for his pool and yard. Just not with UF wire. It is all conduit'ized.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Panels and UF wire


Update....

I completed it all. For the shed, I have an 12 gauge SOOW cord wired into the panel to plug the panel into a regular extension cord to the house, a generator, or inverter at times. Pretty much like a trailer or RV. I know someone will tell me "oh, just hook up some light switches and use them". But I wanted to install a panel because I already have 2 of them that a friend bought, and didn't need, so he gave them to me. I need to know if this is possible. A panel isn't really needed since I am running it off of a 15a, or 20a circuit, but the 15a breakers will protect the existing wiring if plugged into 20a. And in a couple of years, when and if I ever decide to have a service installed out there, then the panel will be there. But, that probably won't happen.


The indoor shed panel I have is here.
http://www.truhardware.ca/cms/app/en...html?pid=86602

How do I energize the other lug and rest of the slots? Do I put a jumper wire from lug to lug, or do I make a pig tail.



Last edited by seansy59; 05-31-2012 at 04:36 PM.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, generator, panel, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar panels 3 gauge wire zman22 Electrical 7 11-09-2011 10:47 PM
3 phase panels and sub panels michael825 Electrical 32 08-31-2011 09:43 AM
Wire layout within panels WoodworkerDave Electrical 9 11-17-2008 10:09 PM
Wire for main panels scrayzee21 Electrical 3 10-18-2008 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.