Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2008, 07:56 AM   #16
newer than a newbie...
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Share |
Default

Panel Upgrades and Aluminum Wire


Well, I just wonder what kind of service panel the Griswalds had for their lights in the movie Christmas Vacation? Now that was one heck of a light show!

mcvane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 08:00 AM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Panel Upgrades and Aluminum Wire


Adding up all values of the breakers in your panel(s) means absolutely nothing. It is never happens that all the circuit are fully loaded at the same time. The proper way is to do a demand load calculation.
Obviously if you are having issues with the main breaker tripping then you need a service upgrade. But you still should do a demand load caculation to see what size service you need.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 12:45 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Panel Upgrades and Aluminum Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvane View Post
Well, I just wonder what kind of service panel the Griswalds had for their lights in the movie Christmas Vacation? Now that was one heck of a light show!

Haha, that was only 25,000 lights; my display was 37,000 lights. And don't you remember, it all went through that one switch in the basement with all the 3 way plug adapters. So since that switch is probably only a 15 amp switch, I'd imagine the circuit panel setup wasn't anything out of the ordinary (haha). That always made me laugh, and for a while it was my goal to beat griswold, then I beat at 27,000 one year, and surpassed it the next at 30,000 and then 2 years ago at 37,000.

Only reason I was tripping the mains breaker was the legs were out of balance and one side was overloaded. I was in the process of moving the loads around to balance it all out between the two legs of power and just didn't complete the process in time. Once I balanced the loads out between the two legs, it was fine the rest of the holiday season.


Last edited by theatretch85; 10-02-2008 at 12:49 PM.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.