Panel Upgrade - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2015, 07:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

panel upgrade


I am replacing a old main lug panel in my home does the new panel have to be a main breaker type, and if so why.Also if the branch wire are too short can I either butt splice them or wire nut them in the panel it self

Advertisement

my48best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 09:56 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,370
Rewards Points: 3,222
Default

panel upgrade


Splices in the panel are allowed. Use wire nuts.

Is the a breaker or disconnect ahead of this panel?

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire 200A Subpanel that will become main panel NickWa Electrical 7 02-19-2015 01:55 PM
Upgrade to a 40 slot 200a panel tommyxv Electrical 9 08-07-2013 08:25 AM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Upgrade panel, add subpanel, add tandem breakers? oregondiy Electrical 11 12-30-2010 10:45 PM
Upgrade Service Panel - Do I need a new meter? El Kati Electrical 6 08-11-2008 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts