Panel Swap - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 06:46 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Panel Swap

Hey Guys

I want to do a panel swap from 100amp fuses to 100amp breakers. My house is older and some wire is not grounded (old black crap), and some is newer and grounded. When i do the swap and get it inspected, will I be required to put GFI's at the panel to protect each ungrounded circuit?



fendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 07:12 PM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250

You do not have to put gfi breakers in the panel. The rept that are on any of the non grounded circuits have to be 2 prong or gfi with the sticker no equipment ground.


NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 10:37 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,674
Rewards Points: 8

You actually have to do nothing. The panel change does not affect anything already installed previously. Your inspector most likely will not look at anything but the new panel and the service.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 10:44 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,240
Rewards Points: 634

I agree with JV. Also the GFI protection would only be needed if you wanted to install 3 prong receptacles on an ungrounded wiring method.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 02:01 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1