Panel Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 12:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel problem


power is off to breaker box so somebody pulled out the whole panel left the bare wire now i want to replace the panel how do i test each switch and outlet to replace breakers with out any power supply

Advertisement

moonneyg2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,271
Rewards Points: 3,182
Default

panel problem


Post a picture of what you have left-----did they cut off the wires or what????

Advertisement

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

panel problem


If you want to identify what wires go to what circuit,
And you have no power,
its not too hard.
Just use a battery some jumper cables
and a multi meter.
Name:  lantern battery.png
Views: 121
Size:  7.0 KB

Name:  jumper test cables.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  31.9 KB

Name:  productLarge_5283.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  29.9 KB

Double check thats its all dead before you start.
one jumper cable from battery negative to neutral,
another cable from battery positive to first cables black,
now go with meter and find which recepticule or light
it go's to !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

panel problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Double check thats its all dead before you start
If there's no panel, it's pretty likely it's all dead.
But he does need to make sure that the incoming feeder is dead as well. No reason to work around live feeders. Maybe the meter can be pulled as well, if not already.
Were any wires cut short? That could be the biggest issue in replacing a panel.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

panel problem


Call the cops.

File an insurance claim.

Hire a licensed electrician.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-31-2012), NJMarine (01-01-2013), Speedy Petey (01-01-2013)
Old 12-31-2012, 08:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

panel problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonneyg2013 View Post
power is off to breaker box so somebody pulled out the whole panel left the bare wire now i want to replace the panel how do i test each switch and outlet to replace breakers with out any power supply
..you test them after the new panel is in place. You are going to hire someone to do it, right? If you have to ask how to test switches and outlets you shouldn't be doing it yourself..
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:32 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

panel problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonneyg2013 View Post
power is off to breaker box so somebody pulled out the whole panel left the bare wire now i want to replace the panel how do i test each switch and outlet to replace breakers with out any power supply
Why is utility power off ?

What does that have to do with someone taking/removing the panel?

You wouldn't test anything until you get a panel installed. If your service entrance conductors are just hanging there disconnected because the panel is missing that can be a big issue if power comes back on.


How about some details of what happened?

I would strongly suggest you follow the advice from K Buz
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 170
Default

panel problem


Oh man, that can be a huge job. I was left with a similar task after the GC abandoned our house building job. One of the nifty little surprises he left us was that he removed all of the electrician's labeling from all of the circuits in the panels. I was left with two panels with about 30 circuits each, and absolutely nothing was labeled.

One technique that I came up with was to connect a 1K ohm resistor across the hot and neutral of a circuit that I wanted to identify. Then I'd go to the panel and start measuring resistances. If I got 1K on a circuit, I knew I had identified it. If I got some other non-infinite reading, then I knew that I had something connected to that circuit that I had not found yet.

Advertisement

fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
Main breaker panel problem the1andonly Electrical 1 06-19-2011 08:36 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 04:35 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts