Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 10:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Share |
Default

panel info


When labeling panel breaker numbers can u use the inexpensive, magnetic ,stick on tape on back of #s ( mine are laminated)
beside breaker ,or is that type material forbidden because of magnetic energy?

hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 10:39 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,650
Default

panel info


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
When labeling panel breaker numbers can u use...
...anything you might have handy? Pretty much.

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 11:23 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

panel info


Spreadsheet is easier. You just enter the info in, then print it out and place in a sleeve. I always like it, when people will use a sharpie on the Dead front, to label the breakers or fuses.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 12:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,358
Default

panel info


I don't think that any magnetic type of label could have enough magnetism
to interfere with the operation of a breaker or gfci
How ever codes are seldom based on reality,
So I' am not sure what they say !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:05 AM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

panel info


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
I don't think that any magnetic type of label could have enough magnetism
to interfere with the operation of a breaker or gfci
How ever codes are seldom based on reality,
So I' am not sure what they say !
More like codes are not built on the common human perspective, when it comes to being analytically thinking outside the box.

The problem with the magnetic labels, is that they would be easily moved, or some inspector would state that they are a shock hazard, because they contain metallic particles in them, and could possibly fall off into the shell, when the Dead front is removed.

Remember the only hazard when working around electricity, are those who think that they know more about the book, then those who wrote the book. I do not even trust those that work on these things all the time, because most times their mind is elsewhere, and not 100% on the task.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

panel info


Thanks ,i guess i will have to use something more permanent to hold the laminated numbers in place.
i have some flat double sided tape i can use or i can just put clear tape over em..just want it to look good for later if inspected.Has a laminated chart inside door identifying breakers.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 10:05 AM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,650
Default

panel info


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Thanks ,i guess i will have to use something more permanent...
http://www.markal.com/liquid-paint-markers/

If you insist on spending money:
http://www.seton.com/best/engraved-e...l-panel-labels
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 02:39 PM   #8
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Default

panel info


I used Microsoft word and made a small chart for the amount of row of breakers. Set the inches correct (1in for full breakers, 1/2" for tandems. And labeled them like that. Especially easy to read for others...and I also labeled circuit numbers on the panel, and on the devices/recepticle themselves.
Attached Images
 

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.