Panel Education - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 10:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel education


I've been looking into adding a generator and started studying my breaker panel. This is a 20 year old Westinghouse. One side is a combination of joint amp breakers. example: Two 20/50 breakers
Disposal 20
AC 50 (joined to the other 50)
AC 50 (joined to the other 50)
Dishwasher 20

Why do this instead of two 20s and a single 50? In addition to this, I have 2 sets of 20/40s like this and 2 sets of 20/30s.

Also, in addition to the main, I have two joined 50s labeled "Main Sub" ?? This doesn't seem to make sense either. I do have an additional breaker panel for the pool equipment. Would it be fed from that?

ME not EE, so I admit to being dum at this. Any help is appreciated.

Advertisement

walkergetx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:33 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

panel education


Quote:
Originally Posted by walkergetx View Post
I've been looking into adding a generator and started studying my breaker panel. This is a 20 year old Westinghouse. One side is a combination of joint amp breakers. example: Two 20/50 breakers
Disposal 20
AC 50 (joined to the other 50)
AC 50 (joined to the other 50)
Dishwasher 20

Why do this instead of two 20s and a single 50? In addition to this, I have 2 sets of 20/40s like this and 2 sets of 20/30s.

Also, in addition to the main, I have two joined 50s labeled "Main Sub" ?? This doesn't seem to make sense either. I do have an additional breaker panel for the pool equipment. Would it be fed from that?

ME not EE, so I admit to being dum at this. Any help is appreciated.
240 Volt appliances require a two pole breaker. Your AC is a 240 Volt 50 amps circuit.
There is a sub panel for the pool. It has a 240 volt 50 amp feeder.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:51 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel education


Why not use one double pole breaker instead of crossing over two 20/50s? Cost?

This
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CIEBEPICMAM#
Instead of this
http://www.google.com/products/catal...ed=0CGgQ8wIwBA#
walkergetx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:00 AM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

panel education


The second picture is a quad breaker, two - 240 volt circuits utilizing the same panel space as a two pole breaker.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:08 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

panel education


"I see", said the blind man. More circuits in the same space. Thanks. Now to find a spot for the generator connection....
walkergetx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 03:01 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 03:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts