Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 01:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Share |
Default

panel box/rewire


Does this look like it needs to be re wired ?It is a 70s box with mostly old wiring
panel box/rewire-imag0114-1-.jpg.panel box/rewire-imag0116.jpg


Last edited by hidden1; 10-29-2012 at 01:21 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

panel box/rewire


Nope.
Looks pretty clean.

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

panel box/rewire


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1
Does this look like it needs to be re wired ?It is a 70s box with mostly old wiring
.
Looks fine the only thing I noticed is the neutral right side by the bottom looks a little funny, can't really tell what it is.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,617
Default

panel box/rewire


Looks good in the pics.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

panel box/rewire


Is it a main panel or a subpanel. Don't see a bonding screw or jumper.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

panel box/rewire


That may be the curly GFI wire.Its the main panel.Has a neutral row with 4 silver wiring also,copper with it side by side(seperately) panel box/rewire-imag0113.jpg

Last edited by hidden1; 10-29-2012 at 07:03 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:16 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

panel box/rewire


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
That may be the curly GFI wire.Its the main panel.Has a neutral row with 4 silver wiring also,copper with it side by side(seperately) Attachment 59662
That is the GFCI neutral.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

panel box/rewire


Got it re wired .Used a tandom 20 amp in place of the old 50 .replaced that old #6 crap with the #12 copper.Is on its own outlet for over range microwave.Can the-GAS-stove be plugged in to that outlet also?It doesnt pull much.

hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.