Painted Over A Outlet And Now Whole Room Doesnt Work? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2009, 09:34 PM   #1
Total Newbtard
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


So my wife and i rent a house and we decided to paint our bedroom the other evening. Well i accidentally rollered right over a power outlet. (ugh) Well the SECOND i did that an entire side of our bedroom lost power. The other half works ok though. I also noticed that a few lights on the opposite side of the wall where the power was lost do not work either. I am very ignorant with power issues. I have checked the breakers, i have turned off EVERY breaker in the house, even the main breaker. No go. I replaced the outlet i painted over with a brand new one. no go. Any ideas? I need my alarm clock for monday! lol. Thanks!! (first post!)

-Ryan

Advertisement

Cyclonickitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:52 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Was the wires stabed in back of rec or wraped around screw?

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclonickitten View Post
So my wife and i rent a house and we decided to paint our bedroom the other evening. Well i accidentally rollered right over a power outlet. (ugh) Well the SECOND i did that an entire side of our bedroom lost power. The other half works ok though. I also noticed that a few lights on the opposite side of the wall where the power was lost do not work either. I am very ignorant with power issues. I have checked the breakers, i have turned off EVERY breaker in the house, even the main breaker. No go. I replaced the outlet i painted over with a brand new one. no go. Any ideas? I need my alarm clock for monday! lol. Thanks!! (first post!)

-Ryan
Sounds like you shorted out the outlet with the paint. Are you sure you turned the breakers all the way off and back on? Another thing to check, see if you have a GFCI outlet that is tripped. They look like this You push the red button to reset.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:12 PM   #4
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Is there a GFCI receptacle on the circuit, in a bathroom maybe?



That may have tripped and needs a reset.

Edit: hayewe! You beat me with your faster image-finding abilities!
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 10:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Since you are RENTING the landlord should be taking care of this
Doing any electric work in a rental can leave you fully responsible for any damage caused as a result
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:15 PM   #6
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


If they are renting, I'd bet they weren't supposed to be painting without the landlord's say-so, so it might be a bad plan to bring him in... especially if the fix is resetting GFCI.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:17 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


I'm more inclined to think that it was a loose back-stab connection in the receptacle than a GFCI tripping. Wouldn't make much sense that only half the room shut off if it was a GFCI.

Shut the circuit breaker off and take the plug out of its box... if the wires are stuffed into a little hole on the back of the receptacle, wiggle and twist them while gently pulling (or just find a little screwdriver and stick it in the release slot) to get them out. Cut the exposed copper off and re-strip the wires. Hopefully you got a new unpainted plug I'd recommend wrapping the wires around the screws on the side instead of back-stabbing them.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:25 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


The OP said "I replaced the outlet " Even using the back stab the chances of repeating the problem seems rather slim and the lights on the other side of the wall that don't work may be in a bath room.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 03:06 AM   #9
Total Newbtard
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
The OP said "I replaced the outlet " Even using the back stab the chances of repeating the problem seems rather slim and the lights on the other side of the wall that don't work may be in a bath room.
To ge this out of the way, our landlord is an old family friend and doesn't really give a rip what we do here as far as decorating, painting or anything of that sort. Of course if we bred mosquitos, fought dogs, or did DNA splicing then she might care. Anyway, Yes i have tried both methods, Backstabbing and the screw. Neither have worked. The bathroom DOES have a GFCI. I will try to make things more clear as well. This is a two level house. The top level is rented by my wife's parents. The bottom level is splt 60/20. We have a single woman who lives in a studio apartment on one side an dmy wife and i live in a one bedroom one bath apartment on the other. The other thing i may point out is that this lower half of this house was built by thus land lady, not a company, so im not sure how she wired it all. To me, the ignorant one, it would SEEM like she daisy chained all the outlets and this one was in the middle so all that followed died after i painted over it. NOTE: This outlet only had ONE black wire ONE white wire and ONE ground wire. The outlet next to it had 2 of each other than the ONE ground wire.
Cyclonickitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 05:46 PM   #10
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


There could be a GFCI anywhere in your house or on the outside of your house even that you need to reset. Keep looking.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 07:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclonickitten View Post
To me, the ignorant one, it would SEEM like she daisy chained all the outlets and this one was in the middle so all that followed died after i painted over it. NOTE: This outlet only had ONE black wire ONE white wire and ONE ground wire. The outlet next to it had 2 of each other than the ONE ground wire.
If it only has one wire then it is impossible that other outlets are daisy chained off this outlet (from this box). Your problem is in one of the other outlets. Turn power off if possible, check each outlet. Check each wire for power before going too far
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:17 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


If there are separate breaker panels and/or meters for each apartment, your circuit might be fed from one of the other panels. If so, you could have tripped a breaker in another panel, or tripped a GFCI in one of the other apartments.

Does anyone else notice a loss of power somewhere?

Although not proper, it is not uncommon to find circuits wired this way (by accident or on purpose).
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:27 PM   #13
Total Newbtard
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Painted over a outlet and now whole room doesnt work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottR View Post
Is there a GFCI receptacle on the circuit, in a bathroom maybe?



That may have tripped and needs a reset.

Edit: hayewe! You beat me with your faster image-finding abilities!

Wow. I feel like a total idiot. I was gone on the weekend backpacking so i couldnt respond to your suggestions but i just flipped the GFCI in the bathroom and POW my outlets work. Im so ignorant when it comes to electricity. I am now determined to learn more. Thanks for ALL you help and time. A great community indeed!!

Advertisement

Cyclonickitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts