Paint Ground Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2008, 01:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Paint Ground Wire


My wife and I are updating our dining room and decided to spray paint the chandelier rather than replace it (surprisingly, this actually looks pretty good.) After doing, we realilzed we had also spray painted the ground wire that runs up the chain to wire box in the ceiling.

Question: Do you think the spray painted ground wire represents any type of risk? I can't believe the paint would interfere with its conductive properties in case of a short but I don't have a lot of experience in this area. Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Advertisement

kevin0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 01:50 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Paint Ground Wire


Just make sure you remove the paint where you wirenut your connection...

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 01:50 PM   #3
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Paint Ground Wire


As long as the part that makes the conection is clean, you should be okay, I see painted grounds often (I am not an electrician, but do alot of my own stuff) and always try to be safe.
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 04:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Paint Ground Wire


Insulated wire conducts electricity, so will painted wire.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:39 PM   #5
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Paint Ground Wire


Quote:
Just make sure you remove the paint where you wirenut your connection...
What he said
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 09:23 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts