Override Garage Door Electronic Eye - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2012, 10:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Ones anyone have any ideas on how to override the electronic eye system on a craftsman garage door opener. I want to use one for a trolley to access the back of my loft. Have no way of setting it up with the eyes and I also don't have an extra set of eyes

Advertisement

robs660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:09 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


One way is to mount the eyes above the torsion spring.
Never mind, I see you aren't using it to open a door....

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


I would not rob the eye sensors from the safety system on a garage door. The infrared eye kits are not that expensive.
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 10:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


I know I can buy new eyes. I want to install without them. I have a large loft and I have always dreamed of building a train to shuttle stuff from back to front
robs660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:01 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Quote:
Originally Posted by robs660 View Post
I know I can buy new eyes. I want to install without them. I have a large loft and I have always dreamed of building a train to shuttle stuff from back to front
Are you saying you don't have safety eyes? In you opening post you used "an extra set of eyes" which I understood as you have one set that came with the opener. Is this a removed or used opener?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Quote:
Originally Posted by robs660 View Post
Ones anyone have any ideas on how to override the electronic eye system on a craftsman garage door opener. I want to use one for a trolley to access the back of my loft. Have no way of setting it up with the eyes and I also don't have an extra set of eyes

Sorry if my reply was not on target but your opening question appears to state that you want to overide or remove a eye from your garage door opener. So you want to use a GD opener on your train set up ? If it will be safe for the application, just jumper the terminals on the GD control board that the infra red eyes hook to.

Last edited by Jeeps; 04-21-2012 at 11:06 AM.
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:08 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Everyone you have missed the point of the OP. They are not using the opener for a garage door. What they are using the opener for, is to move stuff back and forth across a area. They are wanting to know how to use the device but not install the eyes in the system.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:28 AM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeps View Post
Sorry if my reply was not on target but your opening question appears to state that you want to overide or remove a eye from your garage door opener. So you want to use a GD opener on your train set up ? If it will be safe for the application, just jumper the terminals on the GD control board that the infra red eyes hook to.
I do not believe jumpering the terminals will work. Connect the eyes and tape then together facing each other.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (04-21-2012), k_buz (04-21-2012)
Old 04-21-2012, 11:28 AM   #9
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


greg, see post two.
OP: I'm guessing the Craftsman opener is really a Chamberlin. These are designed to prevent cheating the safety system so I don't believe you can just jumper the pins in the motor head.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I do not believe jumpering the terminals will work. Connect the eyes and tape then together facing each other.
I have never tried it but I would think you are correct. I stand corrected.
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 02:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW burbs of Chi-town
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Override garage door electronic eye


Taping the eyes together will work.
I believe there is a certain amount of resistance that the photoeyes have so jumping is out. If you do some web searching you may be able to find the correct resistance and use a resistor between the black/white terminals.
Most units will run in constant pressure (holding the button continuously) till it hits the close limit.

Advertisement

Doorman54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expanding Garage INTO house (goodbye Den) texaopian Building & Construction 16 11-07-2011 11:32 PM
Detached garage subpanel options? jeffiebean Electrical 6 03-15-2011 09:20 PM
Garage remodel - adequate foundation? WillK Building & Construction 1 01-21-2011 02:50 PM
Garage Ideas? tripflex General DIY Discussions 13 12-16-2009 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts