Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 10:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

overload circuit with heat lamps?


I need to plug in two 250watt heat lamps into two GFCI outlets which may be wired together. I'm not sure what else might be on the same breaker but the lamps would probably be used only for a couple nights so the other loads would be minimal. Any idea how much current these things draw? I'm a little concerned as I plan to leave them on while I sleep.
higgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 11:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

overload circuit with heat lamps?


250 watts divided by 120 volts =2.08 amps each.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 05:59 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

overload circuit with heat lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Martina09 View Post
To remove a plug fuse, grasp it by the rim and turn counterclockwise. To be on the safe side, use only one hand, keep the other hand in your pocket (in this way you avoid making a ground contact). Make sure that you stand on a dry surface. As an extra safety precaution, you can keep a board (a 16-inch length of 2-by-6 is ideal) on the floor by the panel. Standing on this will provide additional insulation when you replace fuses.
???? Wrong thread I assume?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

overload circuit with heat lamps?


It was someone who said they were from Canada
But they were actually a spammer from India
Buh bye
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:16 AM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

overload circuit with heat lamps?


Good one Dave I like
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frozen Hot Water Pipes TravisW Plumbing 11 12-10-2009 05:26 PM
saltwater tank circuit overload pamelajo Electrical 5 06-02-2009 12:14 AM
Urgent! House Cold, NO heat, pilot lit (Lennox) ThatGuy23 HVAC 15 02-05-2009 09:11 PM
How to test apartment Heat Pump tbrubes HVAC 7 02-04-2009 03:05 PM
Heat lamps Bob Bala Electrical 3 09-26-2007 05:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.