Overkill? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2008, 03:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Overkill?


I struck up a conversation with a fellow at Home Depot yesterday.

He was telling about a municipal requirement for grounding that I'd never heard before. He said they required a 4ft. hole cubed in the ground with 25 ' of bare #4 coiled around the edges of the hole with this bonded to the panel. He didn't indicate if any electrodes other than the #4 conductor were used.

I had been told in another forum that a good way to ground a panel was to completely surround a structure (a home for example) with a #4 conductor buried at a depth of 2 feet with multiple electrodes set at intervals along this path.

1. Isn't this overkill?

2. If there was a lightening strike, would such a setup rip a hole in the space/time continuum?

Advertisement

Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 04:15 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overkill?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post


2. If there was a lightening strike, would such a setup rip a hole in the space/time continuum?
Yes. Yes it would.

InPhase277

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 07:42 PM   #3
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Overkill?


Fer shure and I got the pics to prove it
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 07:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Overkill?


Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster View Post
Fer shure and I got the pics to prove it
For the love of God man, post them!!!
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 09:10 PM   #5
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Overkill?


I dont know if it actualy would, but i bet it would sure sound like it did.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 11:00 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Overkill?


Quote:
. Isn't this overkill?
Actually, no. In switch gear rooms often times ground rods will be sunk in all corners, bonded together. The transformer vault (POCO feed) will have perimiter ground, then a bond to the building ground. They will make you keep sinking rods and running cable between them until they get their 25 ohms. One room we had to sink 5 rods. It was maybe 400 sq.feet

And in case you were wondering 1.21 gigwatts x 25 feet #4= time warp.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 06:42 PM   #7
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Overkill?


Whoa . . . .on tyhe first post I was thinking . .Wholly Smokes what are they grounding? Three MIle Island

reading on . . . . .apparently so


but considering what suicide it is to drive ANYTHING into the ground 8 feet around here maybe its a thought . . . . .mmmm #4 is going for what a foot now?

Advertisement

Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts