Overhead Teck Cable Entry - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

overhead Teck cable entry


I lost the power entry to my cottage last week - several trees conspired to down the wire and shatter the conduit from the top to the meter base. Hydro clipped the wires at the cap so they are not reusable - too short for the drip loop (not the 1st time the wires have found themselves downed and cut). The entry goes around a corner - lands on one face of the building and hits the meter on an adjoining face - only about 6' horizontal difference, but getting the conductors through the el is a chore.
I would like to replace the conductor/conduit combination with Teck cable but cannot find any information on what to do at the top or whether fittings for a standard meter base are available for 3/3 Teck cable. Can anyone offer advise?
thanks
john

Advertisement

jknox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

overhead Teck cable entry


Quote:
Originally Posted by jknox View Post
I lost the power entry to my cottage last week - several trees conspired to down the wire and shatter the conduit from the top to the meter base. Hydro clipped the wires at the cap so they are not reusable - too short for the drip loop (not the 1st time the wires have found themselves downed and cut). The entry goes around a corner - lands on one face of the building and hits the meter on an adjoining face - only about 6' horizontal difference, but getting the conductors through the el is a chore.
I would like to replace the conductor/conduit combination with Teck cable but cannot find any information on what to do at the top or whether fittings for a standard meter base are available for 3/3 Teck cable. Can anyone offer advise?
thanks
john
What is Teck cable?

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

overhead Teck cable entry


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What is Teck cable?
It's a Canadian thing. It's like gigantic AC cable with a plastic coating.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:18 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

overhead Teck cable entry


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
It's a Canadian thing. It's like gigantic AC cable with a plastic coating.
Yeah, I googled it... looks expensive. lol....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:04 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

overhead Teck cable entry


I can get 3/3 teck cable for $21/m -
$100 for the entry without the
conduit hassles
jknox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 2/0 teck cable Sammy 2 Electrical 1 12-12-2011 11:27 AM
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 07:43 AM
Electrician best practice questions mudworm Electrical 32 11-12-2011 02:59 PM
Running Sky+ cable bookersbeauty Electrical 1 04-09-2009 08:12 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 10:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts