Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 07:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Share |
Default

Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches?


A friend of mine is an electrician and he told me what he thought was the best way to run my overhead lights. I already have all of my recepts. done etc.
He told me to run from the box to bedroom 1 overhead fixture, bed 2 overhead fixture and then bedroom 3 overhead fixture. Now he said to run a 14/3 from the switch to the overhead fix. in bedroom 3 and from the other switch in bedroom 3 to the overhead fixture with seperate 14/3. The same scenario applies to bedroom 2.
However bedroom 1 only has 1 switch so he told me to just run a 14/2 to the switch from the overhead fixture.

My books show a different way to wire going to the fixture first. It shows only one 14/3 and then a 14/2 but I have 1 14/3s from the fixture. Does anyone know how to wire this and is it correct? Thanks.

twilightcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 07:55 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches?


Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightcall View Post
A friend of mine is an electrician and he told me what he thought was the best way to run my overhead lights. I already have all of my recepts. done etc.
He told me to run from the box to bedroom 1 overhead fixture, bed 2 overhead fixture and then bedroom 3 overhead fixture. Now he said to run a 14/3 from the switch to the overhead fix. in bedroom 3 and from the other switch in bedroom 3 to the overhead fixture with seperate 14/3. The same scenario applies to bedroom 2.
However bedroom 1 only has 1 switch so he told me to just run a 14/2 to the switch from the overhead fixture.

My books show a different way to wire going to the fixture first. It shows only one 14/3 and then a 14/2 but I have 1 14/3s from the fixture. Does anyone know how to wire this and is it correct? Thanks.
Why not just call your buddie back up and have him re explain it?

Personally, why not just feed the switch from the plugs and just hit the light, its simple, easy and you'll be done before you know it. Besides all that, one less splice you can mess up.


Last edited by chris75; 07-09-2008 at 07:57 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 06:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Default

Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches?


How do you run 1 wire to 3 rooms feeding the switch first? I can see doing 1 circuit for each room and feeding the switch but how would you run all 3 rooms on the same breaker and feed the switch first.
twilightcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:56 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches?


Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightcall View Post
How do you run 1 wire to 3 rooms feeding the switch first? I can see doing 1 circuit for each room and feeding the switch but how would you run all 3 rooms on the same breaker and feed the switch first.
Panel (14/2) to sw 1, to sw 2, to sw 3. Switch loop from each switch to fixture using 14/2 if light only, 14/3 if fan and light. Simple, clean, quick.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 04:18 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Overhead lighting Run to lights first then switches, 14/3 to both switches?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Panel (14/2) to sw 1, to sw 2, to sw 3. Switch loop from each switch to fixture using 14/2 if light only, 14/3 if fan and light. Simple, clean, quick.

I was assuming the bed rooms were already fed, but guess I dont know what I cant see, thats what make these sites so funny, giving advice without really knowing whats going on...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM
2 switches - 14/3 cable scottmatt Electrical 25 12-11-2007 09:24 AM
Fluorscent Lighting jerryd Electrical 8 11-14-2007 03:53 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM
lighting automation christy123 Electrical 10 03-07-2007 04:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.