Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2008, 08:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Share |
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


What is the best way to wire 1 circuit with 3 receptacals (15A) and 1 overhead fixture with switch. The fixture is a 3 light bulb light. What is the best way to wire this in a house with walls etc. Should I go to the fixture first then switch and receptecals. I don't want the receptacals to be activated by the switch. The recep. will be used for lamps, clock and maybe a TV. Plan on using #14 wire. Any diagrams etc. Thanks.

twilightcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


Without seeing.

Go to the receptacles first then to the switch.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


In any logical order, go from outlet to outlet/switch then run a "switch leg" from the switch box to the light junction box.

Cant do diagrams but......



Panel-----------outlet------outlet---------outlet------switch------light
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


Great. Thanks guys. I appreciate it. That is the best way to do it. I was thinking about it the wrong way.
twilightcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


In the olden days to save wire they would run all the power in and out of the ceiling box and drop a single wire down for the switch.

Not such a good idea as the wires tend to get cooked when people use 100 watt lamps.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 01:28 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,224
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


The best way is the way that uses the least amount of cable. Only an onsite person can determine that.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 03:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


Quote:
The best way is the way that uses the least amount of cable.

Sorry but....no.

There are other factors to consider.

Think of the BIG picture when building.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:03 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


I'm with 220 on that one. I'll go from the basement to the attic and back to keep from cuttin a hole in the wall.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 04:27 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,224
Default

Overhead light w/ switch and 3 recept. how to wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
I'm with 220 on that one. I'll go from the basement to the attic and back to keep from cuttin a hole in the wall.
But you are still going to route that cable in such a way as to use the shortest piece of cable you can.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Red & Black wire from light = blown fuse leedslad Electrical 3 08-28-2006 06:54 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM
trying to wire a light and light switch off of an outlet imphishy Electrical 3 03-16-2005 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.