Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2008, 06:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

oven wiring


Am installing 15a 240v oven with 10-3 wire and 30a breaker. Very cramped space in cabinet & it seems a plug would be easier than hard wiring.There seem several plugs available. Which if any is proper? Is wire & breaker choice correct?

stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 07:57 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

oven wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stan 41943 View Post
Am installing 15a 240v oven with 10-3 wire and 30a breaker.
If your stove is truly 240V 15A(which sounds small to me) why are you wiring with 10-3 and a 30A breaker.

Find your stoves nameplate and get us the info off of there like the voltage, amp draw, and the watts if it is on there. Then we can tell you what size breaker and wire to use.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Default

oven wiring


"total rating 3.7 kW, total Amps 16" Also plug vs. hard wire. Thanks!
stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 09:46 AM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

oven wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stan 41943 View Post
"total rating 3.7 kW, total Amps 16" Also plug vs. hard wire. Thanks!

The 10-3 is fine, but you'll need a 20 amp breaker, as far as installing a cord, if that oven already has a whip installed I doubt you can modify it, but if it does not, then its legal to have it cord and plug connected, but the cord needs to be rated for the temperature of the space in which it is located.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 45
Default

oven wiring


Thanks guys. Hardwire & 20a Fuse.
stan 41943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 12:33 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

oven wiring


If you have not bought the wire you could wire this with 12/2(if it is only a 240V load, if it is a 240/120 load you will the neutral. That would save some money on wire but if you have ran your 10/3 already you are good to go. If it is a 240V you can cut the white wire right off in that cable.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 12:44 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

oven wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
If it is a 240V you can cut the white wire right off in that cable.
No, you can't.

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 06:20 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

oven wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
If you have not bought the wire you could wire this with 12/2(if it is only a 240V load, if it is a 240/120 load you will the neutral. That would save some money on wire but if you have ran your 10/3 already you are good to go. If it is a 240V you can cut the white wire right off in that cable.
So your the guy that does that!
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 08:26 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,695
Default

oven wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
If you have not bought the wire you could wire this with 12/2(if it is only a 240V load, if it is a 240/120 load you will the neutral. That would save some money on wire but if you have ran your 10/3 already you are good to go. If it is a 240V you can cut the white wire right off in that cable.
Man, I hate that!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM
Oven wiring rodsteryz Electrical 1 12-26-2007 01:26 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Gas oven does not work; pilot light on, stovetop works fine kathleentsy Appliances 1 05-22-2007 05:05 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.