Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Oven Wall Switch


we re-did our kitchen about a year and a half ago and got new appliances. The oven we got was a slide in with front controls on it. The range does not have any lockout controls, and with a recent addition to the family, we are concerned that as he grows, it will be easy for him to reach them. Wish we had the foresight when we bought it, but...

Can we put a switch to cut the power to the stove on the backsplash wall(Basically a 220V wall switch that would look like a normal light switch?) I'd prefer a lighted one to make it easier to know when it's on.

Is is just a double pole switch that is switching both hot wires?

Thanks for any insight.

bustedwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:34 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Oven Wall Switch


you would need a 240v switch rated for the amperage of your stove. Your probably looking at a disconnect. I'm not sure how big they go with switches but i've never seen one over 30A and that was for a three phase motor service switch.

on a side note, your kids not going to be bubble wrapped is he? i was cooking KD for myself when i was 11

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:59 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,891
Default

Oven Wall Switch


I think the easiest in this application would be a 40-50 amp contactor mounted next to the panel with a 120 v coil, I would energize this coil with a lutron Pico switch, it comes with a wireless companion switch that you could mount or store anywhere in your kitchen... nice easy clean installation. I don't know the actual amperage to your range, but this is a super easy installation with out snaking wires. If you go my route, don't buy a dimmable Pico switch.




Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-17-2012 at 05:05 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (07-17-2012)
Old 07-17-2012, 05:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Oven Wall Switch


http://www.toysrus.com/product/index...LAID=405208072

Seems like a large expense when they make these.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,891
Default

Oven Wall Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index...LAID=405208072

Seems like a large expense when they make these.
That only stops the door from being opened, not the controls from being turned on... especially the top burners...

For the OP, are you sure there are no lockout controls? They seem pretty common these days...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:27 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Oven Wall Switch


I was thinking that it was a built in type range only.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:29 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,891
Default

Oven Wall Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I was thinking that it was a built in type range only.
Im not 100% sure what he has...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:32 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Oven Wall Switch


i think he's a one hit wonder.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:07 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Oven Wall Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I think the easiest in this application would be a 40-50 amp contactor mounted next to the panel with a 120 v coil, I would energize this coil with a lutron Pico switch, it comes with a wireless companion switch that you could mount or store anywhere in your kitchen... nice easy clean installation. I don't know the actual amperage to your range, but this is a super easy installation with out snaking wires. If you go my route, don't buy a dimmable Pico switch.



My electrician mentioned something similar to this. If I understood it correctly, it is basically a remote controlled breaker?

He didn't seem to think it was too complicated, but if he did wireless it would be even easier. He was just going to run a normal switch as the kitchen is almost directly above the breaker box.

The stove is 40 Amps, and he didn't know of any normal wall switches rated above 30.

Last edited by bustedwheel; 07-18-2012 at 08:27 AM.
bustedwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:45 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Oven Wall Switch


My electrician just dropped these off because he was in the neighborhood.

http://www.amazon.com/Safety-1st-Cle.../dp/B00068O22S

Well Played electrician. Well Played.
bustedwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 09:28 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Oven Wall Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
That only stops the door from being opened, not the controls from being turned on... especially the top burners...

For the OP, are you sure there are no lockout controls? They seem pretty common these days...
There is a control lockout for the oven, but not for the burners.

bustedwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
only 1/4 inch of frame & wall on each side of wall oven tentativentexas Appliances 1 09-27-2010 06:56 PM
Question about neutral wire through wall switch guitarmonster Electrical 33 08-08-2010 09:51 PM
Help with four way switch jwetsit Electrical 3 05-04-2010 06:05 AM
inoperable wall switch bap Electrical 6 04-18-2010 08:15 AM
Advice on retaining wall replacement (pics inside) eastie Building & Construction 0 04-05-2010 10:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.