Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Oven Range hookup


The new range I would like to purchase requires a 40amp circut but I have a 50amp. Can I hookup this range to the 50amp?

Also the wiring is coming from the wall, not connected to an oulet. What would be the cost to install a 3 prong oulet?


Last edited by jerome8283; 11-13-2008 at 09:43 PM.
jerome8283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:21 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Oven Range hookup


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerome8283 View Post
The new range I would like to purchase requires a 40amp circut but I have a 50amp. Can I hookup this range to the 50amp?

Also the wiring is coming from the wall, not connected to an oulet. What would be the cost to install a 3 prong oulet?
If the current wire is capable of 50amp service(6gage), then you can always run less on it.

Cost to wire an outlet? Are you going to wire this yourself or are you asking for a cost to hire someone to do it?

It costs about $10 for a plug if your going to wire it yourself. It's something you want to make sure is done properly, so if this is out of your comfort zone, you may want to get some help.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Oven Range hookup


Just swap the 50 amp breaker for a 40 amp. You should have #6 wire installed and existing. Make sure you use a 4 wire receptacle, one that matches you new range cord. 2-hots 1-neutral and 1 ground.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Oven Range hookup


I ended up installing 4’s and switched the 50 to 40amp. Thanks all!

Last edited by jerome8283; 11-14-2008 at 08:20 PM.
jerome8283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oven Building sinr98 Electrical 3 09-13-2008 11:43 PM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM
New Range Wiring c086473 Electrical 4 03-11-2008 08:50 PM
Dual Fuel Range Elec Hookup Qman Electrical 2 11-28-2007 08:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.