Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,160
Blog Entries: 5
Share |
Default

oven power cord


Replacing a (?) 9 yr old stove and had to buy a $21 power cord as they don't come with one.

Can I just use my old one?

Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:57 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,652
Default

oven power cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
Can I just use my old one?
$21 sounds high, but safety weenie says......
Is yours in good condition?

You'll need one exactly like the one you have... 3 vs 4 prong.
Make sure you have the neutral/ground squared away before energizing.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 07:01 AM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

oven power cord


I might also check the gauge of the cord, to make sure it is acceptable with the amperage of the stove.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 07:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,160
Blog Entries: 5
Default

oven power cord


OK, I'll keep the new one.

What does "'neutral/ground squared away before energizing"' mean?

Won't the delivery men unplug the old one and just plug in the new one?
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:19 AM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

oven power cord


Yes they should, $21 could be the installed price.
Be sure they install the Anti-tip plate! some places around here don't
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 07:19 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

oven power cord


I would use the old. I have used the old one in the past. They are behind the stove and see very light of day. It should be like new.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 07:35 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,160
Blog Entries: 5
Default

oven power cord


My receipt says, "power cord, $21", so I think it's just the cord I paid for and not installation.

How will I know if the 'anti tip' is installed? I'll ask when they bring it.

thank you

I don't think I could manage a house alone without all the help here.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:54 AM   #8
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

oven power cord


Joed has a good point using the old cord.
The Anit-Tip plate will attach to the floor or wall and has a horseshoe shape so one of the back leveling feet can slide into it.
All the new free standing ranges I have seen/installed come with them.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 09:03 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,160
Blog Entries: 5
Default

oven power cord


thanks for the anti-tipping info. Probably if I still had kids in the house I would have been more aware of it.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:11 AM   #10
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

oven power cord


Yeah, but an anti-tip is also good for adults. Like if someone's roasting something heavy in the oven and also has a big pot of liquid up on top. The combined weight of them close to the front might cause tipping. So it's not only about avoiding kids pulling it over.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:11 AM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

oven power cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Yeah, but an anti-tip is also good for adults. Like if someone's roasting something heavy in the oven and also has a big pot of liquid up on top. The combined weight of them close to the front might cause tipping. So it's not only about avoiding kids pulling it over.
and if you're cleaning the oven, slip land on open door it could tip over.
Stoves are not real heavy
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:22 AM   #12
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,086
Default

oven power cord


Highly unlikely the "delivery men" will be hooking your "new" cord up to your range.
You should look into that.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:13 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,160
Blog Entries: 5
Default

oven power cord


Got the new stove. yay.

They seemed reluctant to attach the anti-tipping and said it's only if "kids stand on the open door, or I lived in Calif where they have earthquakes". So I said skip it. But, they (Lowes) said if I want it later just call and they'll come back and put it in. They were extra busy with deliveries today.

Thanks guys, I will call later and have it attached.

Then, they said power cords have to be wired in, and they "aren't allowed" to use old ones but I could do it". (I don't do wiring, it scares me), so I had them put the new cord in.

Where the 3 prong outlet is in the wall, a 1" pc of black plastic broke off the side, but the guys used electrical tape to fix it. I suppose I need to call an electrician and replace it soon.

I know this house was 30 yrs old but I'm getting tired of having to fix things every time I turn around.

Last edited by Startingover; 06-06-2013 at 12:16 PM.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:23 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,868
Default

oven power cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
Then, they said power cords have to be wired in, and they "aren't allowed" to use old ones but I could do it". (I don't do wiring, it scares me), so I had them put the new cord in.
That surprises me. When we built our house, we bought all the kitchen appliances from Home Depot, and they were all delivered at once. The guys that delivered them hardly spoke English. No way would I have trusted them to hook anything up. Fortunately, I was perfectly capable of doing it myself. Actually, my wife and I built the house (a log home) almost entirely by ourselves.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
Startingover (06-06-2013)
Old 06-06-2013, 12:24 PM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

oven power cord


An anti tip bracket. One of the back feet of the range slips into it and the foot can not lift off the floor thus holding the range down.


__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
jbfan (06-06-2013), Kyle_in_rure (06-06-2013), Startingover (06-06-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help connecting range replacement power cord designSTL Electrical 4 01-04-2013 06:29 PM
14/3 Power Cord in conduit NotSoElectric Electrical 10 09-05-2011 09:40 AM
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 10:37 PM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 09:36 AM
Ac needs to power cord Buttons50 Electrical 5 07-13-2008 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.