Oven/Micro Combo Wiring.... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2007, 09:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Let me start by saying I am not doing the actual wiring for this. I have a licenced electrican doing it (family member) who is not available for a few days to answer this question, so I am asking here.

We ran a 10/3 with ground wire to the oven. It is on a 208v 30amp circuit (as per the spec's). I need to know the correct receptical and plug to get for the unit. I do not want to hardwire it, I want to add a cors, plug and receptical (unless there is reason not to).

Is there any more info needed to determine this?

Advertisement

dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 05:20 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


I'd hard wire that sucka... but thats just me . Anyone else? I'm quessin' your electrician relative will agree with me...but i've been wrong before.

Advertisement

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 06:26 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,214
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Are you sure your circuit is a 208 volt circuit? This is an odd supply voltage if a single family dwelling. If this is multi-family living then it is more likely.

You will need an appliance cord designated for use with an oven appliance. Your voltage should be 208/120 or 240/120. As most combo's the micro-wave is 120 volts. So combo units are often dual voltage rated. However I am not sure if you have a microwave convection oven or an oven with microwave as two different units.

If the nameplate shows 208/120 or 240/120 then for 30 amps you need a NEMA 14-30P and a 14-30R.

If the unit is single voltage rated then for 208 or 240 you will need a 6-30P and 6-30R.

Go here for reference....... http://www.jhlarson.com/ind_tables/n...a_straight.htm

I am also assuming your 10/3 is a cable that includes a ground wire so you would have 2 hots, a neutral and a ground (4 wires total)
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 09:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Here are the spec's, it looks to me like a single power source. It is a Jenn Air JMW8530DAB

Power Source:Max. Amp Load:30 Total Connected Load:6.6 kW @ 240V / 5.7 kW @ 208V Electric Supply:120/240 VAC , 120/208 VAC Power Source:Electric Ratings:CSA approval,UL listed



I thought he would hardwire to, but when we ran the line from the panel, it is cut short in the wall box.

The unit is not here yet and I am just trying to get all the part's needed to finish. I am sure it is easier if I see the unit and take it from there WITH my electrician there, but am trying to stay ahead of the game.

Yes, it is 10/3 with a ground.
dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 10:45 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


These units are typically hard wired. If the electrician has a box in place, then he will connect the "whip" that will be attached to the new oven to that box for a hard wired connection.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 10:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Ah, I see. So make the connection in the box. Got ya.
dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 11:19 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,214
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


As househelper said these units are almost always hardwired as they come already equipped with an appliance pigtail (whip). Most of what I said is probably going to be irrrelevant. I was under the impression that you already had the unit ready for installation and it was a cord and plug approved appliance. At any rate next time you do something like this leave plenty if extra cable at the connection point before you install the box . Then when you get the unit you will be able to tell where the best location for the connection will be, then install the junction box. The instructions may state if you can cord and plug the oven. Your problem may be where the junction box is located. My suggestion is that when you get the unit and if you come up to short to reach where you put the junction box with the factory pigtail, then run a new 10/3 that is long enough. This will make for a much better installation and your pocket book won't be damaged too much. I wouldn't try to add on a piece to the 10/3 circuit. It would be acceptable to cord and plug if the manufacturer approves. I've never cord and plugged one of these though and I've never stuck a plug on the end of the factory pigtail that comes with the appliance.....hardwire it. Since you have a family member that is an electrician he should know what is required.

BTW.... Your appliance is dual voltage so you have the right cable. My guess would be that your supply is likely to be 120/240 if this is a single family home.

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 10-03-2007 at 11:23 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 11:25 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Perfect, thanks guys. I will definately run a long enough line from the panel if not long anough to make the single connection from the appliance. I have enough 10/3 left over to do so, so no issue with $$. Hell, this kitchen is WAY over anyway, whats another $100 in wire!!!!!

Again, I am sure it will get done right, just wanted to get an idea prior to. In the end, it looks as if I do not need to buy anything!!!
dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 11:30 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,214
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Is your junction box going to be flush mounted inside the wall cavity or surface mounted outside the wall?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Right now, the wire is brought up from the crawl, up the wall cavity and it is coiled up in a single gang box in the wall (plastic box).
dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 03:37 PM   #11
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


The single gang box isn't going to be big enough. I'm not sure about box fill( no code book handy) but experience says that with the whip provided by the manufacturer what you (your electrician family member probably already has) will need is a 1900 box (roughly 4"X4"X1.5" steel with 1/2" knockouts), one 1/2" romex connecter for the 10/3 , one 1/2" metal flex connector for the whip, four red wirenuts, one green ground screw to bond the box and a cover for the above 1900 box. It's a long list but really it's not... it sounds complicated but really it's very easy. The most important thing in any wiring project like this is to GET THE WIRE NUTS AS TIGHT AS POSSIBLE. Loose wire nuts start fires. Tight wire nuts will last a lifetime. Good luck and post when completed.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Sorry to interrupt ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcd22 View Post
..... I do not want to hardwire it, I want to add a cors, plug and receptical (unless there is reason not to).
Last year we had our kitchen remodeled. The contractor wanted the electric stove to have an outlet and plug, not hardwired.
At the time I didn't know what difference it would make, so I asked the electrician.
He stayed neutral (no pun intended) on the subject and would wire it either way.
Result was he hooked up the outlet and installed the wire and plug.
When we went to push the stove into the opening, the stove contacted the plug, so there was a few inches between the stove and the wall, and the stove stuck out from the cabinets. It didn't look good.

The electrician was kind enough to come back and remove the outlet/plug, and hardwire it. The stove then went flush against the wall, and looks good now.

Bill
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 08:53 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


we went with a receptical and cord in the single gang box, it fit fine. It is a 3 wire application (ground and neutral are tied together). He knew what all this meant and now I have a receptical and cord waiting for the unit.

We did take come measurment's to make sure it would fit OK, but we will see.
dcd22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:10 PM   #14
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcd22 View Post
we went with a receptical and cord in the single gang box, it fit fine. It is a 3 wire application (ground and neutral are tied together). He knew what all this meant and now I have a receptical and cord waiting for the unit.

We did take come measurment's to make sure it would fit OK, but we will see.
If this is a new installation (new wire pull from the panel) it is a code violation to have the neutral and ground tied together. Your electrician should know this. You should undo this "3 wire application" and install the proper 4 wire receptacle with a separate neutral and ground.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:32 PM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,214
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

Oven/Micro Combo wiring....


Hmmmmm....I guess I'm having trouble understanding what you did?

You say you ran a new 10/3 g to the oven/micro location. This is a four wire branch circuit.

Now you have that 10/3 g to a 3 wire receptacle and tied the neutral and ground together in that receptacle????

If so this is all wrong!!

You now have 2 paths that neutral current is going to travel back to the panel. That ground wire in the 10/3 is not to have neutral current on it!!

As Househelper has said.... big time code violation.

You did the absolute right thing running a new 10/3 g.... but now you have it all wrong at the connection point for the oven.

You need to correct this.... this is a very hazardous installation as you have done it.

Ask your electrician friend/family member to explain ....maybe we are just not communicating correctly.

Do not install the oven/micro with a 4 wire 120/240 volt branch circuit to a 3 prong receptacle and cord!!

Wait till you purchase the unit. If it comes with a 4 wire factory pigtail to hard wire... then hard wire the unit. This is the preferred method. If the unit installation instructions say you can cord and plug (they may so no) then change to a 4 wire cord and plug and 4 wire receptacle as househelper has said.

Stubbie

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 10-08-2007 at 02:28 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Wiring an outlet in the garden wackerjr Electrical 8 05-28-2006 09:18 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts