Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

outside wiring question


So as some of the regulars here know I don't do much residential work so I thought is pick a few brains. We recently bought a older home and between the initial interior reno's and the Comming of winter I haven't had a chance to poke around outside much. A new 200a service was installed for some unknown reason(all gas appliances except hottub) but I'm not going to complain as you can never have enough power. What a noticed first is that the garage and some interior lights are on the same circuit. So I figure first order of business is to fix this up as I would have needed more power for my woodshop anyways. I have a super low roof so I couldn't figure out how they got the new power to the opposite corner of the house for the hottub when they did the panel upgrade. I did some checking today and found they ran a sealtight down the outside of the house along with some exposed nmwu outdoor cable, no pipes no protection for the kitchen reno they did(work done by electrician I'm told). Question is how often do you guys see circuits added in like this. I'm thinking I may cut it back and run it all in PVC along with my new power for garage. In all honesty they put the new panel in the worst possible spot the could have for acess.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:55 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

outside wiring question


Basements and workable attics are common in my area so its usually pretty easy to get a circuit where it needs to be without exposed wiring on the outside of a home.

I hope I answered the question you were asking.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:57 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outside wiring question


I've seen, and did it one time for a hot tub.

Old house means plaster and that has its own issues if you start cutting to get wires from one side to the other.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:02 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

outside wiring question


Wouldn't be my first choice, but like any other work you need to deal with the field conditions. Often times budget dictates the way to get something done. They might have been able to run other ways, but at a much greater cost.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:23 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

outside wiring question


Well to get to the attic they would have to go from the basement through the first floor. Problem at that point is I have a low cottage roof with only 48 inches at peak. I put a pot light in two and a half feet from the spot in the attic above the panel and I only had 16inches clearance there( thank goodness I'm thin). I guess I was mainly wondering if you guys see inspectors pass exposed cable on house exteriors.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:24 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

outside wiring question


Not too often seen, but if not subject to damage it is allowed.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
208V/3 Phase Wiring Question efalcon1 Electrical 12 09-28-2012 11:22 AM
Outdoor Wiring Question OKDrew63 Electrical 30 08-14-2012 11:25 PM
Adding 2 outlets in the middle of a series of outlets - wiring question Evan55 Electrical 7 06-14-2012 09:43 AM
Attic wiring question everyman Electrical 4 07-07-2009 09:47 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.