Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2006, 02:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


I am having problems with an outlet on the outside of my house. There does no seem to do any power coming from the the outlet. I tried changing the recepticle but still no power. I used a multimeter and outlet checker and they both showed no power. I realize that if I had the wires screwed in wrong that the outlet checker would indicate that they were wrong, but the checker doesn't even light up at all. I know very little about electricity so where do you think the problem lies?

P.S. A have already checked the obvious, circuit breaker is on.
Attached Thumbnails
Outside outlet not getting power-img_0188.jpg  

HomeRepairNoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 02:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeRepairNoob
There does no seem to do any power coming from the the outlet. I tried changing the recepticle but still no power. I used a multimeter and outlet checker and they both showed no power. I know very little about electricity so where do you think the problem lies?

P.S. A have already checked the obvious, circuit breaker is on.
Could have a lose wire/connection before it goes to this receptacle.

This circuit may have a GFCI before this outlet and it may have tripped off.

You know little about electricity so I would not advice you to do this but I would check to see if you have power coming out of the circuit breaker for this receptacle (have an electrician check this). Circuit breakers can fail. If there is power coming out of the circuit breaker then you would have to follow the wire down until you lose power.

Can you follow the wire out of the main panel box and check to see if you have power at the next outlet? Or is this the only outlet on this circuit breaker?

Does this circuit breaker control other lights/outlet/fixtures? If all the other lights/outlets/fixtures that are on this circuit breaker are working properly then there may be a loose wire before this outlet.

Do you check the power coming into this outlet with your meter?

If this is an outside outlet it may require a GFCI.


Last edited by redline; 05-21-2006 at 02:41 PM.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 02:43 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


First off, to you and anyone else who might have the same problem. If there is no power to a box, replacing the receptacle will not make the power reappear. Yes, changing out an old recetpacle is rarely a bad idea, it is just rarely the problem.

There is a VERY good likelyhood that you have a GFI receptacle somewhere in the house that is tripped. Find it and reset it.
Try the garage first. Look behind that pile of stuff you never get around to moving. It is usually there.
Try the basement and even bathrooms. Sometimes they are even in the LR or kitchen nearby the dead one (although a kitchen receptacle feeding an outside receptacle is against code).
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 02:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
First off, to you and anyone else who might have the same problem. If there is no power to a box, replacing the receptacle will not make the power reappear. Yes, changing out an old recetpacle is rarely a bad idea, it is just rarely the problem.

There is a VERY good likelyhood that you have a GFI receptacle somewhere in the house that is tripped. Find it and reset it.
Try the garage first. Look behind that pile of stuff you never get around to moving. It is usually there.
Try the basement and even bathrooms. Sometimes they are even in the LR or kitchen nearby the dead one (although a kitchen receptacle feeding an outside receptacle is against code).

Yes that was it. GFCI outlet in kitchen was tripped.
HomeRepairNoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 03:39 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


There ya go!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 05:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


My dad had the same problem a while back, garage outlet was fed from lower bathroom GFI and outside outlet was fed from upper bathroom GFI, which didn't make sense because they are no where near each other, I guess when they built the house wire was cheap and GFI's were not.
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 06:35 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Outside outlet not getting power


In my 1975 built home the two bath receptacles, and two outside receptacles we all on one GFI breaker, in the garage! So my first week in the house, right after replacing the FPE panel, I installed 4 new GFI devices.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kitchen outlet no power apt238 Electrical 27 08-25-2006 07:37 AM
Outlet and light pigtailed to power. ok? skellies Electrical 2 06-24-2006 01:08 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.