Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 08:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

outside to inside electrical outlets


i recently had a outside outlet installed for my outdoor lighting. the contractor ran off the same line from my dining room outlet and just drilled out the brick and was done. i ran xmas lights off this outlet so i know it has worked before. yesterday i was installing a water proof shield over the outlet and my screwdriver hit the side of the HOT outlet. the guy at lowes said that I probably just fried that one outlet. now my problem (before i fix that outside outlet) is that i have a row of outlets inside in kitchen/dining room (two seperate rooms) that don't work. ALL GFCI switches are on and reset. main box in garage shows all circuits are on. the reason for me checking those GFCI switches is that this outlet outside runs off my dining room outlet. so here's my question....

by fixing the outside out will that make these outlets work again or did i fry those outlets in my kitchen/dining room as well??

taylorbeier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:50 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,576
Default

outside to inside electrical outlets


While only the countertop receptacles need GFI protection the dining room might be downstream from a GFI you have not found. You could also start to look at the last working or first non-working receptacle for a loose connection.

BTW, adding a receptacle outside to the dining and kitchen receptacles is a Code violation.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:02 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

outside to inside electrical outlets


Start again by looking at the breakers in the panel. One is probably tripped. The handle is probably in the 'center' position, neither all the way off, nor all the way on. If you find one like that, move it to the off position, then to the on position.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 104
Default

outside to inside electrical outlets


You could also have a loose connection in the box where you had the problem. I would check that closely and repair that problem first, then if you still have a problem with the other outlets, check further.
davido30093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 01:53 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

outside to inside electrical outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorbeier View Post
i recently had a outside outlet installed for my outdoor lighting. the contractor ran off the same line from my dining room outlet and just drilled out the brick and was done. i ran xmas lights off this outlet so i know it has worked before. yesterday i was installing a water proof shield over the outlet and my screwdriver hit the side of the HOT outlet. the guy at lowes said that I probably just fried that one outlet. now my problem (before i fix that outside outlet) is that i have a row of outlets inside in kitchen/dining room (two seperate rooms) that don't work. ALL GFCI switches are on and reset. main box in garage shows all circuits are on. the reason for me checking those GFCI switches is that this outlet outside runs off my dining room outlet. so here's my question....

by fixing the outside out will that make these outlets work again or did i fry those outlets in my kitchen/dining room as well??
If you have that contractor done that way that is a major code volitation they are NOT allowed in NEC code at all I know the same with French electrical codes as well.

Was this contractor you hired to do the work on that part is licesed electrician ? if not then that person have no bussiness to do that.

Sorry to be harsh on that point but that is not a really wise idea to do that all.

Many Electricians will know this part and we will not use those circuit so we will run from seperated circuit.


Now to troubleshooting first thing you will have to double check the breakers to make sure they are not in tripped modé.

Once you verifed then you will have to start to find where is the loose connection that cause the issue.

It can be bad wirenut or loose connection one of the receptale espcally with backstabbing they are famous for that.

And I will really recomend that you start plan to run that outdoor receptale from diffrent circuit like garage or other places.

The following circuits are off limit { not to add or change out of the scope }

• Kitchen
• Dinning room
• Bathrooms
• Furance

Plus may have few other items depending on your state or local codes requirments.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Can you place an electrical outlet inside pole wrap. luweee Electrical 9 03-16-2009 12:50 PM
Electrical for disposal - box inside of cabinet? pcampbell Electrical 1 05-07-2008 08:18 AM
Electrical storm - outlets not working SG94 Electrical 4 04-27-2008 09:28 AM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.