Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Outside Ground Wire...


We have been having troubles with our landlines and water heater for months! Our house is over 100 years old and I'm not sure if the wiring has ever been redone. Yesterday I discovered the ground wire outside the house has come unattached from the rod. I'm fairly new @ this home repair thing and hopefully I don't sound like an idiot-1st question: could the issues with the phones and water heater both be related to the ground wire? and 2nd:can I reattach the ground wire SAFELY without replacing everything and turning off the electricity? Answers GREATLY appreciated!

kteymer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Ground Wire...


Ques 1 - Not knowing what ' issues ' you are having, can't really say yes or no.
However, under normal conditions, the ground wire should have no current or voltage on it. So the lack of it being connected should make no difference. It is a safety precaution.

Ques 2 - see answer to #1

jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 01:54 AM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Ground Wire...


It's possible some issues could be caused by a loose ground. Depends on the issues. Reconnecting a loose ground wire should not usually pose a danger, but could be extremely dangerous in some circumstances if there is a problem with your system. Without more information it's impossible to tell. Is there another clamp somewhere that connects a ground wire to your water line? If so then the missing connection to the ground rod is insignificant and shouldn't be dangerous to reattach. But if there is no water line connection, then the missing ground may be more of an issue.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
kteymer (06-05-2012)
Old 06-05-2012, 11:41 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Ground Wire...


Our phones have terrible connections 1/2 the time, when it wants to work @ all. We've had the phone company check it and they say it's most likely a ground wire somewhere. The water heater works fine for a few days, then the fuses blow. I can't tell u how many fuses we've replaced in the last few months. We have no other problems with any appliances or electrical. The phone and water heater began having the problem @ the same time, so I only assumed they were related.
kteymer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Ground Wire...


And when engineers say "it is a ground loop" it means the same as when doctors say "It is a virus".
It means they don't know or they don't yet know. The second case is excusable.

In my whole life I don't think I've ever heard an engineer or a doctor say "I don't have a clue." Hopefully it means "I don't yet have a clue." There is a difference.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ground, phones in house, water heater, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 02:29 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.