Outside GFI - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2012, 12:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outside GFI


I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a couple things?
The GFI normally by the front and back door,

Question #1- I was wondering if this has to be by code 12/2 -20 Amp breaker or can they be 14/2 -15 Amp Breaker?

Question #2 - Can the front door GFI and the rear door GFI be on the same breaker or is it code they have to be on 2 separate breakers?

Thanks in advance for any help or replies.

-POWER

Advertisement

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

Outside GFI


If this is new wiring install the GFI inside the house, jump off on the load side to a reguler outlet outside then go from there to the other outlet.
Reason being it will keep the GFI in a dry area and you will get less false trips from moisture.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:24 AM   #3
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outside GFI


if im not mistakesn they can go on 15 amp breakers. i dont think there is a rule that they need separate circuits either.
they do, however, require the front and rear GFI protected circuits.
i'll need to double check to be sure. meanwhile, someone else will probably give a definitive answer before i get back
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If this is new wiring install the GFI inside the house, jump off on the load side to a reguler outlet outside then go from there to the other outlet.
Reason being it will keep the GFI in a dry area and you will get less false trips from moisture.

Thanks for the help, can that run off the GFI Next to panel or does the GFI by the panel have to be by it self by code?
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:32 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by POWER STROKE View Post
Thanks for the help, can that run off the GFI Next to panel or does the GFI by the panel have to be by it self by code?
You can use the gfi by the panel to protect the outside receptacles
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterZ View Post
if im not mistakesn they can go on 15 amp breakers. i dont think there is a rule that they need separate circuits either.
they do, however, require the front and rear GFI protected circuits.
i'll need to double check to be sure. meanwhile, someone else will probably give a definitive answer before i get back
Thanks for the help and reply
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post
You can use the gfi by the panel to protect the outside receptacles
Thanks for the help and reply
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:45 AM   #8
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outside GFI


NEC 2011 code 210.8(A)(3) Outdoors.
doesnt specify dedicated. can use 15 or 20 amp circuit.
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:47 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If this is new wiring install the GFI inside the house, jump off on the load side to a reguler outlet outside then go from there to the other outlet.
Reason being it will keep the GFI in a dry area and you will get less false trips from moisture.
They make WP (weatherproof) GFCI receptacles...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:52 AM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If this is new wiring install the GFI inside the house, jump off on the load side to a reguler outlet outside then go from there to the other outlet.
Reason being it will keep the GFI in a dry area and you will get less false trips from moisture.
Not really ... the same moisture problem exists with the regular receptacle you install outside so therefore the gfci will nuisance trip anyway. If you install the wp gfci as stickboy mentions and use "in use" covers you will not have any problems.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:57 AM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Outside GFI


I am a big fan on installing GFCI's at point of use, this way you are not hunting down forgotten GFCIs, and you can easily reset the defunct device.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jrclen (08-19-2012)
Old 08-17-2012, 01:05 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outside GFI


Thanks everyone for your help and input
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:04 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
They make WP (weatherproof) GFCI receptacles...
Wouldn't that be weather resistant?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:28 AM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Wouldn't that be weather resistant?
Yes, correct.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:55 AM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Outside GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Wouldn't that be weather resistant?
I thought the formula for weather proof was .. (WR) + IN USE COVER = WP

Advertisement

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts