Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2008, 02:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Share |
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


Well, somehow I messed something up, and I've got two outlets (they're same circuit, connected to each other) that have power - but barely. I put a fan in them and it moves, but it doesn't move a fraction as fast as it should (and does in other outlets).

Any quick reasons two outlets would be giving power, but not full power? I *think* my connections are tight, and am going to check again, but it'd surely be a coincidence if they were bad on both outlets that are having the issue*.

Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated, I've been up and down from the attic here in FL almost all day for 3 days straight, trail/erroring this, any ideas or anything would be hugely appreciated!!! Below is the story that changed these fine-working outlets to the half-powered POS's they are right now!!


(* this issue was created by me, as follows :
the two outlets in question are in different rooms that share a common wall, the outlets are both on this common wall. Both rooms had switches connected to their respective outlets, and the outlets worked great with the switches controlling them properly. However, I wanted those switches for other reasons < I re-routed each room's respective switch to the ceiling fan in each room - I should note these two ceiling fans, which the switches now (successfully) control, are on completely different circuits than the outlets in question)
joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 02:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


(ahem, yeah, after 3 days of fighting, I *just* figured it out - no replies needed, mods feel free to close )
joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 04:35 PM   #3
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


you dont get off that easy, tell us what you did so we can laugh at it, because we have all done it before./
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 06:17 PM   #4
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


Maybe the outlets were wired in series instead of parallel?
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 04:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


Quote:
Originally Posted by wire_twister View Post
you dont get off that easy, tell us what you did so we can laugh at it, because we have all done it before./





hahahah ok I'll share
The wall outlets were all on one circuit, and there were two other circuits (one room's ceiling fan, which became switched, and the other room's ceiling fan + movie projector w/ switched fan / constant-power projector).

The problem was that I had mixed the damn wiring from the projector/switched-fan with the wire to one of the outlets from the outlet circuit, so it would just blow the fuse each time.

After that was fixed and the circuits were separated properly, I couldn't even begin to guess at what caused the low, but present, power issue. Alright I'll try to guess - the best I can think of is that there were two outlets in line with each other, so they'd need ONE wire connecting them, but I had two wires - both a direct one through the wall (they shared a common wall), and one in the attic
joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 06:03 PM   #6
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


I had a friend wire a second light into my attic space once long ago. In series with the first. Ha! I finally got off my ass and wired them properly a few weeks ago. 100 watt bulbs are pretty dim when operating in series
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 07:23 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


lol tnkx for the laffs guys! i needed this after the last 2 weeks!

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 08:37 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

outlets work, but barely (?)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gp_wa View Post
I had a friend wire a second light into my attic space once long ago. In series with the first. Ha! I finally got off my ass and wired them properly a few weeks ago. 100 watt bulbs are pretty dim when operating in series
Pretty dim, but they'll last forever!

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
electric outlets no longer work movistar Electrical 5 04-24-2008 12:27 PM
Gas furnace just barely does not work. Halcyon HVAC 9 12-27-2007 11:28 PM
outdoor outlets don't work. dbrew Electrical 2 12-03-2006 09:50 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.