Outlets And Switches In Series Or Parallel? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2011, 12:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlets and switches in series or parallel?


I will be installing some new work outlets and switches, and am wondering what the optimal way to lay out the wire path in the wall.

Are there any rules of thumb, when deciding how to wire up sockets and switches? Should I try and daisy chain (series) them as much as possible, or use a junction box in the attic, and have a few individual branches (parallel), or there is really no difference and I should just do whatever is easiest/cleanest/ or uses the least wire?

Advertisement

Tetranitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 02:12 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlets and switches in series or parallel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetranitrate View Post
I will be installing some new work outlets and switches, and am wondering what the optimal way to lay out the wire path in the wall.

Are there any rules of thumb, when deciding how to wire up sockets and switches? Should I try and daisy chain (series) them as much as possible, or use a junction box in the attic, and have a few individual branches (parallel), or there is really no difference and I should just do whatever is easiest/cleanest/ or uses the least wire?
Do what fits the structure design. All wiring is in parallel whether you use a junction box or daisy chain from box to box.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Outlets and switches in series or parallel?


Normal daisy chaining of outlets is really a parallel connection also. (connect blacks together and connect to one side, as in left or right, of receptacle, connect whites together and to other side of receptacle)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:18 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlets and switches in series or parallel?


Which ever method uses the least cable is the one I use.
There is no best or better way if you do it to code.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlets and switches in series or parallel?


Thanks for the great replies everyone

I know that everything is technically in parallel, and should probably have chosen my wording a bit better (after all, being technically correct is the best kind of being correct), but I figured they were the easiest terms I could use to describe the setup I was asking about.

It is also good to know that there is no real preferred setup, it will make my work much easier. I figured someone might have had an opinion on it (ex: Do whatever uses the least wire, while not over-stuffing the boxes), and wanted to see what the general consensus was before jumping in.
Tetranitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlets , parallel , series , switches


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Outlets in Series allbymyself Electrical 6 01-25-2011 12:52 AM
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 01:06 PM
Replaced outlets, now wall switches don't work? PittsburghPaul Electrical 3 08-09-2009 06:50 PM
replacing old outlets and switches Nailpounder Electrical 7 04-28-2008 10:36 AM
15A or 20A switches & outlets MIKEGOUGH1 Electrical 1 03-14-2007 08:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts