Outlets Out - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 05:00 PM   #1
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,163
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

Outlets out


A bit of history first. Our house was built in the early 70's. After we moved in we noticed a series of outlets on an exterior brick wall were out. It was fixed by our neighbor's Ex, (a GC, but not a licensed electrician). I don't know exactly what he found.
The same series of outlets went out again last night. After reading a few thread like this one I thought I would do a little exploratory surgery.
outlets in garage and exterior outlet stopped working

I'm a total electrical newbie, but I turned the breaker off (triple checked) and looked in each outlet one by one for any loose connections or anything obvious.

All of the other outlets had the ground wires connected to the box (red circle) except this one. This one had separated from the box and there was a scorch mark on the inside of the plastic cover where it had separated. None of the others had the green wire either. I assume this is what was done by my neighbors EX but I'm not 100% sure.

Where do I go from here?
Should I be looking for GFCIs in a house of this age?
Attached Thumbnails
Outlets out-outlet2.jpg   Outlets out-outlet.jpg  

Advertisement

Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 05:43 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlets out


Looks like the ground is connected to the neutral screws.

The original problem appears to be an open neutral. You neighbour created a very serious potential risk by connecting the ground to the neutral.
Put the green ground back on the green screw and connect to the box. Then go looking over the rest of the circuit for a disconnected neutral (white) wire. It could be in a working device box on the circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (07-13-2011), operagost (07-15-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 05:47 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlets out


I see a ground wire in the box and I see it is wrapped in paper so NM cable was used, at least that is what it looks like.
The electrical box looks rusty, do you think water is getting into it?
If all the boxes have NM cable with a ground wire, the next thing to check is in the main panel to make sure all the circuits terminate correctly in the panel box.
I also see two smaller wires, at least I think that's what is in the picture, so do you know what they are?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (07-14-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 06:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Outlets out


Put the earth wire back were it should be !
Double check all connections on all recepticules,
If boxs rusty, replace if possible, and find/fix water ingress prob.
There was obviously an open circuit neutral somewhere.
Find and fix !
replace if ness,
Use a gfci if in doubt.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (07-14-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 07:52 PM   #5
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,334
Rewards Points: 3,306
Default

Outlets out


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Looks like the ground is connected to the neutral screws.

The original problem appears to be an open neutral. You neighbour created a very serious potential risk by connecting the ground to the neutral.
Put the green ground back on the green screw and connect to the box. Then go looking over the rest of the circuit for a disconnected neutral (white) wire. It could be in a working device box on the circuit.
An easy way to see if a neutral is not working-----

You will need a tester (a $2.00 neon tester is fine) and a grounded extension cord.

The outlet may have power but no neutral--to check touch one lead of the tester to the gold screw with the black wire and the other to the metal box. (if the box is grounded the tester will light up)

If nothing happens---plug the extension cord into a good working outlet

then test the black wire again--this time tester to the black wire and stuck probe into the wide slot of the extension cord.

The electricians will yell at me if I steered you wrong---Mike---


If you don't have power at all---look for a gfci breaker or hidden gfci outlet.----Could be anywhere in the house---they were expensive back then and it's not unheard of to find outside outlets back wired to a second floor outlet or one in the basement.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (07-14-2011)
Old 07-14-2011, 06:04 AM   #6
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,163
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

Outlets out


I found an old "grounded outlet tester" which shows there is power to the outlets.
I moved the green wire from the neutral back where it should be, from the green screw to the box.

I'll post a pic later, but it has been a long night with sick dogs and other other fun stuff going on so I'm just leaving the breaker off overnight and am going to get some sleep.
Thanks everyone!
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 06:10 AM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Outlets out


Another significant safety issue here: These are outdoor receptacles, and are not GFCI protected. If they were GFCI protected, the GFCI would trip from the ground-neutral connection as soon as a load was applied. GFCI protection for outdoor receptacles was required in the late 1970's (was it '78?) - you must have been before the cutoff. You REALLY should fix this. Replacing the circuit breaker on this circuit with a GFCI, or installing a GFCI receptacle as the first on the circuit, will protect you and your family and friends from electrocution in case of a defective piece of equipment or a water-related "incident" with this circuit. You'll have to fix the ground-neutral connection problem at the same time, or the GFCI will trip continuously.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (07-14-2011)
Old 07-14-2011, 07:53 PM   #8
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,163
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

Outlets out


This is quickly getting past the point I am comfortable with. I'm gonna call a licensed electrician.
Thanks everyone for your help.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Blondesense For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-14-2011)
Old 07-14-2011, 08:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Outlets out


A wise move my friend !
Dont forget to get back to us,
And let us know what the fault was !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blondesense View Post
This is quickly getting past the point I am comfortable with. I'm gonna call a licensed electrician.
Thanks everyone for your help.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:49 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets out


How many outlets in the 'series'? Outdoor outlets require bubble covers around here now, and GFCI is a plus too.
(GFCI MAY be required in your area, check first.)
"Exterior receptacle outlets do not need to be GFCI protected if they have bubble covers" ( www.inspectionnews.net )
It requires a screwdriver, not an electrician at this point I don't think...... you seem to be pretty handy.
Turn off the breaker and replace the outlet covers with bubble cover plates.
Green to green screw, white to silver screws, and black to gold screws. It's pretty basic and you can save a bunch of $$$ doing it yourself.

Good luck!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:53 PM   #11
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Outlets out


General outdoor receptacles require GFCI protection and be weather resistant. In-use covers required when in wet locations.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:36 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Outlets out


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
General outdoor receptacles require GFCI protection and be weather resistant. In-use covers required when in wet locations.
And TR
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:22 PM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Outlets out


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
"Exterior receptacle outlets do not need to be GFCI protected if they have bubble covers" ( www.inspectionnews.net )
Not true. Bubble covers ("in-use covers" per the NEC) may ALSO be required, but GFCI protection is definitely required. The quote above doesn't even appear on the linked page, as far as I can tell.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:10 AM   #14
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Outlets out


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
And TR
Oops. Good catch.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:15 AM   #15
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets out


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Not true. Bubble covers ("in-use covers" per the NEC) may ALSO be required, but GFCI protection is definitely required. The quote above doesn't even appear on the linked page, as far as I can tell.
Funny thing that.... I have outdoor outlets and just passed inspection with standard outlets....

Google it to see what I see. You have to sign up as a member to read that there.....

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Outlets out-screenshot1.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 09:49 PM
bathrooms and outdoor outlets not working maybecalifornia Electrical 1 03-04-2011 07:24 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts