Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 01:27 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Outlets not working


Columbia, Mo.

mackelroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:50 PM   #17
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Default

Outlets not working


so have you tried the plug in tester in all outlets (top and bottom)??

next thing i might try is to shut the breaker off, remove the outlets and and use an ohm meter from box to box. first make sure everything is dead, then i would start at the end, tie white and black together, then go to the plug next in line and measure ohms across black and white. you should get 0 ohms, if you don't then you have a problem between the two boxes. if you find such a thing, then i would tie black to ground and retry measurement. if you get 0 ohms, then your problem is the white wire is broken.

repeat for each wire between boxes.

rod
rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:54 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Outlets not working


Yes. I've tried it in all outlets, top and bottom. Will try your latest suggestion next.
mackelroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:56 PM   #19
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Default

Outlets not working


just make sure that the wires are dead before you start tieing wires together
rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:22 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

Outlets not working


I'd look at nearest switch that could be in series after working outlets. See if any wiring got loose from vibration or from switch use.

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switches not working but outlets are Jennybird Electrical 4 11-04-2010 10:15 AM
Outdoor outlets DIY_JC Electrical 8 08-09-2009 07:12 PM
Replaced outlets, now wall switches don't work? PittsburghPaul Electrical 3 08-09-2009 05:50 PM
some outlets not working Clallen Electrical 5 06-08-2009 04:09 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 07:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.