Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 07:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

outlets not working


I recently wired my barn and back fed my panel yesterday using 14-2 with my generator. Hooked my hot into my main breaker and neutral and ground into my bars. My outlets worked at the begining of the day. Now both my north set of outlets dont worked and neither does my south set. what could this be? i no the generator has enough juice.

Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

outlets not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradesman14 View Post
what could this be?
An open circuit upstream of the non-working outlets, or a short circuit downstream of a circuit breaker that has opened because of overcurrent, the breaker being upstream of the non-working outlets.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 06-27-2009 at 07:57 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 07:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Default

outlets not working


what do you mean by this? this may make me sound like an idiot but does it have anything to do with one an open spot in the panel ( one spot without a breaker in it.
Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:25 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,509
Default

outlets not working


Maybe tripped GFCI?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Default

outlets not working


nope. tried that. no power to gfi.
Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:46 PM   #6
2 fingered typer
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Near Pontiac, Mich
Posts: 32
Default

outlets not working


The very first thing I do is shut off the main breaker.
I then wire up a 220 v double pole breaker and no. 10 wire with a male plug to the generator.
Turn the breaker off.
Plug the 220v plug into the generator.
Turn off every circuit except the ones you will need, maybe 1 or 2
depending on the wattage/amperage output of the genrator.
Fire up the generator.
Turn the 220v wired up breaker on and the whole panel and every circuit is back fed.
Make certain the wire size will support the load!
No 14 wire is only good for 15 amps MAX!
An open circuit is one where the hot is not, or the neutral is not connected for what ever reason. A tripped breaker or one that is shut off will cause this condition. bill
BTW if you back feed with 110 v to only one side of the panel, only the circuits on that side will work. I would NOT do it they way you stated, not safe.

Last edited by woodnthings; 06-27-2009 at 08:59 PM.
woodnthings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:06 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

outlets not working


The solution is to rip out that jackleg junk and wire it up correctly and safely.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Default

outlets not working


Ok back feed with 10-2.
if i wire the main breaker with hot and nuetral thatll bring in 240. wont that blow my lights?
How many amps would (4) t8 8 foots lamps be pulling?
Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:17 AM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

outlets not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradesman14 View Post
Ok back feed with 10-2.
if i wire the main breaker with hot and nuetral thatll bring in 240. wont that blow my lights?
How many amps would (4) t8 8 foots lamps be pulling?
No, do not backfeed it with 10-2, or 8-2, or 6-2. This is a jackleg, hack installation and as you have already seen has begun to have problems. If you are a tradesman as your name says, then do it correctly.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:21 AM   #10
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

outlets not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
BTW if you back feed with 110 v to only one side of the panel, only the circuits on that side will work. I would NOT do it they way you stated, not safe.
Your way is unsafe as well. Back feeding a panel is dangerous, and should not be posted on a DIY site. It's a dangerous operation for a professional to do, God forbid a DIY.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:19 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

outlets not working


While you are at it, you might make sure that all the neutral and ground wires arriving at their bus bars in the panel are still tight; retorque all of the little set screws. Then turn off each breaker in turn and tighten the screw holding the circuit hot wire in it. (Do not use tremendous strength)

Don't forget, you must have a transfer switch or interlock mechanism to connect your generator to a panel. It must be impossible for both the utility power and the generator to be connected to the same hot bus bar or circuit hot conductor at the same time.

It is usually easy to set up a barn for generator power since the feed from the (main) house is easily moved to one leg of your transfer switch. The other leg of the transfer switch can have the cable with the male plug that connects to your generator receptacle. The barn subpanel is connected to the common terminals of the transfer switch.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-28-2009 at 08:29 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 05:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Default

outlets not working


If i did back feed with generator with 10 2 and male plug and hook the 10 2 (hot and nuetral) into the main wouldnt it power both sides of the panel? maybe thats whats wrong?
Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 05:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

outlets not working


Is your generator 240 volts?

I assume your panel is 240V single phase.

If your generator is only 120V you need to jumper between phases to get power to both.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 05:53 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dayton ohio
Posts: 31
Default

outlets not working


how do i jumper between phases. i believe mine is 240 volts its a 5500 watt. im not positive about 240 though
Tradesman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 06:08 PM   #15
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

outlets not working


Sigh....

In my neck of the woods, this is what we call a cluster f*ck and a fire hazard.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
some outlets not working Clallen Electrical 5 06-08-2009 04:09 PM
Outlets stopped working RammsteinNicCage Electrical 12 05-03-2009 09:47 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Electrical storm - outlets not working SG94 Electrical 4 04-27-2008 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.