Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2007, 05:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlets lost power


All power was lost to several outlets. I believe they are all on the same circuit. None of the circuit breakers popped. Nothing is plugged in the outlets. All the GFCI seem to be working correctly.
Could it be a faulty circuit breaker?

Hoegy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:45 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,710
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

outlets lost power


What room are these receptacles in? What is the age of the house?

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlets lost power


When you say all power was lost, do you mean that you've tested them and there is no voltage between hot and ground? Or do you mean you've plugged something in and it doesn't turn on?

If you haven't tested it yet, test from hot to neutral, and hot to ground.

If the receptacles don't work, but you have 120V from hot to ground, then you probably have an open neutral. It should be in the last working outlet, or the first not-working outlet (assuming you have an idea of what order the circuit is wired.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:20 PM   #4
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlets lost power


As my ex- father in law used to say, sometimes they just stop holding hands...
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 12:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlets lost power


The receptacles are both upstairs and downstairs.
2 are in the living room.
2 are downstairs.
And one is for the front door light.

I checked all the receptacles with a meter and
it showed no voltage to the upstairs and downstairs receptacles.
I did not check the front door light.

The house was built in 1952.
Hoegy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 02:06 PM   #6
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outlets lost power


Start taking **** apart. Be VERY CAREFUL cause you are gonna find that hot wire somewhere.

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've lost power at my barn Jim Owens Electrical 11 10-11-2008 10:58 PM
Garage lost power jkrodger Electrical 4 11-04-2007 08:50 AM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.