Outlets With Ground Up - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 07:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Outlets with ground up


Ever see outlets installed with the ground up? I have and asked an electrician years ago why, he told me the reason but I forget, can any sparks out there give a reason why?

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:53 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Outlets with ground up


yes, its common, we do it a lot in commercial depends on what is spec'd. the idea behind it is, if you have something plugged in and it comes loose gravity pulls the the cord down then the ground pin is exposed first.

Advertisement

dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets with ground up


Several schools of thought, but both are correct, up or down. With it up, some suggest that anything falling down would not touch hot/neutral, this is good. Some also say that if the above happens and the cord sags, the ground connection is the first to be broken, not good. With the ground pin down, the ground is the last connection to be broken, good. As suggested above, depends on how it is spec'ed.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Outlets with ground up


Thanks to all.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:33 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets with ground up


We've had this debate in other threads here many times.
The jury is still out on this one, evidently.
All of mine are ground down, it just 'feels/looks' right to me. lol

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:39 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets with ground up


Some houses have the switched outlets installed opposite from the rest -- the ground up outlets are easily identified as the one controlled by a wall switch.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (12-05-2010)
Old 12-05-2010, 10:52 AM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets with ground up


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Some houses have the switched outlets installed opposite from the rest -- the ground up outlets are easily identified as the one controlled by a wall switch.
Huh.... never seen that before.
But then again, I've never had switched outlets in any place I've lived.

Good info!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:24 AM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,225
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Outlets with ground up


I always put them ground down. All right angle plugs have the ground pin down, plug one into a receptacle with the ground up and the cord sticks up in the air.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:28 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Outlets with ground up


Years ago an alien space ship landed in New Jersey. Thats when it started. Some insist on December 21, 2012, all receptacles will automatically reverse there position.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:37 AM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlets with ground up


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
all receptacles will automatically reverse there position.
Hmmmm.... sounds a lot like Congress!

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
Lost my Ground jodywoj Electrical 10 12-20-2009 07:37 PM
1990 Bounder Motorhome 3 prong outlets actally have no ground connected!! Help! Holering Electrical 5 03-30-2009 01:59 PM
Sub Panel Grounding Question. RobertS Electrical 63 02-27-2008 02:50 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts