Outlets Do Not Work But Has 120v! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2010, 10:31 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Outlets do not work but has 120v!

First of all, I am a NOOB - so hope there's no initiation party!
And, I'm a NOOB to electrical stuff but curious to know things and sometimes googling and reading stuff goes over my head. I look for simple answers and then work my way up from there.

My issue: few electrical outlets do not work due to few high watts items were plugged (i.e., heater, microwave, etc.) in the same outlet and they died out. Fusebox are all ON. When I plug in my handy dandy digital multimeter (purchased one and then it was a challenge itself how to use the darn thing), I test the outlets and they are giving out 120v-122v - but when I plug in things, they do not work. I thought when they die - there's no electricity flowing in there but in this case there IS electricity?

Advertisement

cosmokramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:39 AM   #2
Inspector/Instructor

Rewards Points: 250

Are you checking from hot to neutral or hot to ground when you get your reading?
I suspect you are reading to ground. Which you have lost your neutral conductor some where.

Advertisement

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:41 AM   #3
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000