Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


Two bedrooms upstairs... the light switch in one of the rooms not only controls that light, but also powers two outlets in that room and two in the other upstairs room. I would like to get rid of the switch controlling the outlets altogether without running new wires.

I took out one of the outlets from the other room and the light switch that controls it. Here is what we have...

Outlet box: 1 black, 1 white, and 1 green

Switch box: 3 white coming in that are all nutted together, 2 black coming in that are nutted together, and another black coming in that goes directly to the switch

Help!

Thanks for any thoughts!!!

Koellert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


Depending on your location the code may require a switch controlled receptacle.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


Quote:
Originally Posted by Koellert View Post

Switch box: 3 white coming in that are all nutted together, 2 black coming in that are nutted together, and another black coming in that goes directly to the switch

Help!

Thanks for any thoughts!!!
Are you sure you have only one black conductor going to the switch? Does not seem possible. You should have two conductors going to the switch if it is a single pole switch. More if it was a 3-way or 4-way switch.

Anyway if it is a single pole switch just take both wires off the switch and wire nut these two wires together and get rid of the switch. Now you will need a blank cover for the box.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 35
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


I know... but honestly, I could care less. As long as it is safely wired, screw the code.
Koellert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


Take wires "A" and "B" off the switch and wirenut "A" and "B" together. This takes the switch out of the circuit. Now find a blank cover for the box. Jim Port does have a point about a switch controlled outlet...say for a light....being in each room. Do the two rooms in question have different accesses or is one room accessed forom say the rear of the other?
Attached Thumbnails
Outlets controlled by light switch in another room-one-sp-switch-one-lite-power-switch.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-08-2012 at 08:04 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 01:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 35
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


The problem is... I still want to use the switch for the light in that room, I just don't want it to cut the power to the outlets when it is off.

Also, Hammerlane... you are right. The 2 black that are nutted together have a red coming from the nut to the switch.
Koellert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:31 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,448
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


The two black that are nutted, do they connect to the switch? They should. Take one of them and connect it to the other terminal of the switch with other black wire. If the wrong device is on all the time you got the wrong wire. Put it back on the other switch terminal and move the the other wire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 35
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


Thanks Joed!

The two black ones that are nutted are connected to one of the switch terminals with a short piece of red wire.

So... what you are saying... take one of the nutted black wires and run it directly to the same terminal of the switch that the other black wire is already on? AND, leave everything else connected as it already is?
Koellert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


If it looks liike this
Outlets controlled by light switch in another room-old.jpg

change it to this
Outlets controlled by light switch in another room-new.jpg

You have a 50/50 chance that the recepticals will be continuosly on or the light. If wrong try the other black wire. Hint mark the black wire from the power source before you start. I'm going on the assumption who ever wired sent one wire up to the light and the other down to the recepticals.

Thank you hammerlane for the drawing.
goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 35
Default

Outlets controlled by light switch in another room


I did it as you guys instructed and it worked. THANK YOU!!!

Now, tell me that this is a legitimate long-term fix and that I don't have to worry about a "faulty wiring" fire or anything.

Thanks again!

Koellert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
Wireless Light Switch? harding13 Electrical 12 06-09-2011 07:59 AM
Why doesn't light switch control my outlets anymore? saksams Electrical 2 12-14-2010 09:51 PM
Outlet controlled by light switch billvasko Electrical 3 12-29-2009 05:57 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.