Outlets Connected To Light Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 03:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


I have several outlets connected to a light switch. I'd like to remove a few from the loop and have them function like a normal outlet. Is this something as simple as removing a wire connection or is it more involved?

Thanks.

Advertisement

wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:30 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


That depends on how the receptacles and switch are wired.

Give us details on the wires in the receptacle boxes and switch box.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 04:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


What you should do is open up the switch box and look at the wires. The wire going to the receptacle will be on one screw of the light switch find which one it is and cap it with the wire that provides power. Then you should be good for the receptacles always having power but the switch wouldn't control anything do you have a light?
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:06 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
What you should do is open up the switch box and look at the wires. The wire going to the receptacle will be on one screw of the light switch find which one it is and cap it with the wire that provides power. Then you should be good for the receptacles always having power but the switch wouldn't control anything do you have a light?
This will make all of the switched receptacle hot, the OP wants to change a "few". All depends on how it is wired.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


Oh I see I thought he wanted all of them hot
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:47 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


To the OP, are both the top and bottom of the receptacle switched or just top or bottom?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:48 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
What you should do is open up the switch box and look at the wires. The wire going to the receptacle will be on one screw of the light switch find which one it is and cap it with the wire that provides power. Then you should be good for the receptacles always having power but the switch wouldn't control anything do you have a light?
Depending on the room this affected it could also create a code violation by removing the switch cotrolled lighting outlet.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


There's no light connected to the switch currently; I use a floor lamp. Ideally, I would have the lamp connected to an outlet connected to the switch. The other 3 or 4 outlets would be regular "always on" outlets.

What do you need to know about the switch\outlets?
wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
To the OP, are both the top and bottom of the receptacle switched or just top or bottom?
Both are switched.
wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:55 PM   #10
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by wcpatton View Post
Both are switched.
That makes it much harder. Pull one of the outlets out and see what wires are in the box. Are there any wires in the box that are not connected to the outlet? Is there an unused red wire? If not, then the best you can do without a lot of extra work will be to bypass the switch to make them all unswitched.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 08:27 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


We need to know the wires in all the switched receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 08:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlets connected to light switch


You're going to have to pull new 3 wire from the switch to the receptacle

Advertisement

jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
Light will now switch off Manjo62 Electrical 3 02-10-2011 12:59 PM
Ceiling Fan with Light kit - Light not working aadams Electrical 12 11-03-2010 07:32 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 03:17 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts