Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2010, 07:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlets


can you put outlets and switches on the same circuit

gdilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlets


yes.............but I suspect your question is too vague.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Just Bill For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (12-12-2010)
Old 12-12-2010, 08:44 AM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outlets


Yes, but I suspect Bill is correct.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 12:02 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

outlets


There are certain circuits like kitchen small appliance circuits and laundry circuits that cannot have lighting on the same circuit as the receptacles. Depending on how many bathrooms the circuit serves there are also restrictions.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 12:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlets


in a walk in closet where should the switch be inside the closet or outside of the closet by the door
gdilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 01:12 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

outlets


Personal preference. The switch could be in another room if you want.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 01:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 250
Default

outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdilis View Post
in a walk in closet where should the switch be inside the closet or outside of the closet by the door
Sounds like are you want to install a closet light to an existing branch circuit which has outlets already. This should be OK, but a few things need to checked first:

What does this branch circuit serve (bedrooms, bathroom, living room/den, etc.)? If the branch circuit serves a bathroom or kitchen, you should not add general lighting to it.

What is the rating of the breaker for this circuit, and what gauge of existing wiring serves the circuit? If it's a 20A breaker, it should be 12 AWG. 14 AWG should be used only on a 15A breaker. For your new wiring, you should stick to the same gauge as the rest of the branch.

What type of lighting fixture are you planning to put in the closet? If it is an incandescent fixture, it should be a recessed fixture with an integrated thermal cutoff to keep combustible materials in the closet (especially on the top shelves) from contacting the fixture.

The placement of the switch is your choice (within reason, of course; keep it away from water like sinks/bathtubs). I'd personally place it on the outside of the closet and use a pilot light switch that will indicate when the light inside is on.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 01:51 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

outlets


There are strict clearance requirements for fixtures in closets. There are also restictions on fixture types.

Depending on the two items above you may not have the proper space to even intall a fixture in the closet.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
Need to rewire outlets and lights..HELP suboveryde Electrical 1 11-02-2010 07:19 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-09-2008 12:09 AM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.