Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2010, 06:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Guymon, OK
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

outlets


Can anyone tell me why manufacturer changed back wiring for outlets from 12 gauage to 14 gauge? It is so much faster to use back wiring and I can't find any outlets that have 12 gauge holes in the back!

bhawkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:54 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

outlets


Backstab connections (the kind where you just push the wires in) are known to come loose over time. Don't use them....there are "backwire" outlets that go under a clamp you tighten with a screw - way easier than wrapping the wire around the screw and much more secure than backstabs.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:55 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

outlets


Back-stabbed devices are prohibited from use with #12 wire by the electrical code. You will not find any.

The reliability is less than devices properly wired to the screw terminals.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:12 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

outlets


They were changed due to too many burnouts and fires from marginal/bad connections.

UL was instrumental in making this change.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:55 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

outlets


Get spec-grade back wired receptacles. The have a clamp for the wires where you stick the wires in the back and tighten the screw.

On second thought, these are about two dollars more each. If you are worried about the time it takes to make a proper connection on a receptacle I doubt you'd spend the extra $$.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:09 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Guymon, OK
Posts: 2
Default

outlets


Thanx for the info guys! Very helpful. I have gone to several stores and no one could tell me "why" the recepts had changed. Knowing what I know now, it's worth the extra time to install them right! I will look into the "backwire" outlets and see if they are cost effective enough to out way the regular recepts that take a little more time to connect.

bhawkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 07:28 PM
Power leading to outlets but no power ? s_anthony Electrical 22 01-05-2009 01:08 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.