Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Outlets


Only one outlet in my front room works tried changing the fuses and flipping the brakers and nothing can someone help

Adamsmami29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 09:23 PM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Outlets


Have you checked them with an outlet tester? They are handy to have and only about $10-15. Get one that can test GCFI type outlets too.



Any chance the outlets are controlled by wall switches? This is not uncommon in living rooms.

Is there a GCFI protecting outlets in the room that might have tripped? Sometimes they are found in weird places. I lived in one place where some of the living room outlets were on the same circuit as the bath and the GCFI was in the bath. I found one set of family room outlets protected by an outdoor patio GCFI.

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 09:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Outlets


Yes we have one my husband got one and my brother in law checked it and said no electric was coming from the outlet
Adamsmami29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 09:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Outlets


It's a old house and we just bought it a few months ago and I checked the front room outlets only one works
Adamsmami29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:05 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Outlets


Could be a receptacle somewhere that was backstabbed or a nicked wire broke and is breaking the connection. Removing and inspecting one receptacle at a time with the breaker off is where I would start.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Outlets


You didn't happen to change a ceiling light fixture in that room did you?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (05-23-2012)
Old 05-22-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Outlets


Loose hot or neutral wire a the box? Failed breaker switch?
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 11:21 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Outlets


Do you have a switched receptale in there ? if so you may want to take look at the receptale itself and see what colour the conductor you have in there the normal unswitched verison will only have two conductor useally black et white.

The switched verison will useally have black et white et red so you know that is switched verison.

But the other common item will fail is splices on wirenuts or backstabbed recepatles.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 06:15 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,364
Default

Outlets


Have you got any gfci's anywhere in the house ?
Have you checked all recepticules for gfci's ?
You might have one somewhere and not know it !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 06:21 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Outlets


So the outlets worked when you bought the house or they've never worked? If they've never worked you could spend hours trying to figure out what the problem is. If they've stopped since you bought it the first place you should look is anywhere you've installed new electrical devices.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 06:29 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Outlets


do you have any switches on the walls that you don't know what they go to?

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Gfi outlets keep tripping but not constantly INEEDHELPPLZ1 Electrical 22 09-30-2011 08:28 AM
Grounding outlets... bigdaddyII Electrical 12 08-28-2011 02:22 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 08:49 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.