Outlet / Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 09:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet / Switch


I need to remove an outlet from a light switch.

I need the outlet to be live all of the time, not just when the switch is in the on position. I have no money for an electrician, so I have to do it myself.

Does anyone know how to go about this?

Advertisement

Jannette63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outlet / Switch


Are you saying you want to install a plug off the light switch but have it constant powered?

Advertisement

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet / Switch


Hi,

I have an electrical outlet that runs the garbage disposal, so it is hooked up to a light switch for power. The second outlet is also hooked up to the swith, so you only get power when the switch is on.

I want to make the second outlet to be live 24/7 leaving the top outlet connected to the switch.
Jannette63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet / Switch


I have an electrical outlet that runs the garbage disposal, so it is hooked up to a light switch for power. The second outlet is also hooked up to the swith, so you only get power when the switch is on.

I want to make the second outlet to be live 24/7 leaving the top outlet connected to the switch.
Jannette63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 10:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Outlet / Switch


Removing switch control from an entire existing receptacle (outlet, plug) making the latter live all the time.

Turn off the power. Open up the box containing the switch. Remove the switch from the box. Remove the two non-bare wires from the switch. (If there is a third, bare, wire, remove it from the switch also and put it inside along the side of the box connected to nothing.) Connect the two wires together (1). Close up the box (2).

Refinement (1) If one of the switch wires is short (is a pigtail) and connected to another wire nut, remove it completely. Connect the other switch wire to everything else under that wire nut.

Refinement (2) If you don't have a cover with no hole where the old switch was, put the old switch with nothing connected to it back into the box so the hole is filled.

If only two wires (one white, one black) come into the box with the duplex receptacle, it is not possible using the existing wires to make the bottom receptacle live all the time and the top receptacle stay switch controlled.

If power comes to the receptacle first and another cable goes to the switch further on, then you can do what you want. You will find the white (neutral) of the power feed connected to a silver screw of the receptacle. You will find the black (switched hot) of the switch loop cable connected to a gold screw of the receptacle. The other two wires (probably one white and one black) will be connected to each other with a wire nut and are always hot. You need to bend and snap off the little gold tab between the two gold screws. Connect a short (about 6 inch) black wire between the wire nut (with the existing wires still there) and the other gold screw of the receptacle.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-24-2009 at 10:47 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 07:25 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 09:08 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 06:06 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 07:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts