Outlet Screws? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2015, 12:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 232
Default

Outlet screws?


Is it okay to take an outlet screw fully out so to get the wire loop on easier?

Advertisement

Mikeron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,183
Rewards Points: 5,326
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeron View Post
Is it okay to take an outlet screw fully out so to get the wire loop on easier?
There's usually a stop like feel at the end of the screw. You can force it out of the threads if you continue to unscrew it. It's also hard to reinsert the screw into the threads. If the loop is properly open and in the same plane, you shouldn't have a problem getting it around the screw. Make sure the loop goes around the screw in a clockwise position. If you do it the other way it will open as you tighten it.

Advertisement

__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
Mikeron (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 01:23 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,498
Rewards Points: 5,148
Default

Outlet screws?


N there should be no need to back the screw out entirely .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Mikeron (08-14-2015), Speedy Petey (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 01:54 PM   #4
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 917
Rewards Points: 1,230
Default

Outlet screws?


I've done this a few times. The trick is, as you unscrew and it stops, screw it back in a bit, then out a bit more, then in a bit, then out a bit more, etc. There is a deliberate burr on the screw threads and working it in and out repeatedly straightens out the burr.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tylernt For This Useful Post:
Mikeron (08-14-2015), rjniles (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 03:14 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 6,010
Rewards Points: 3,472
Default

Outlet screws?


Why would you do that. The loop fits fine under the screw without it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 03:26 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 10,682
Rewards Points: 8,158
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Outlet screws?


If you have to remove the screw to get the wire on then you are either
1. doing it wrong.
2. using too large a gauge wire for the device.
3. trying to put two wires under one screw which is not allowed.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Pharon (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 03:59 PM   #7
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 917
Rewards Points: 1,230
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Why would you do that. The loop fits fine under the screw without it.
The main reason is too-short conductors in an old-work scenario. I dunno when the 6" free length rule was adopted, or maybe it wasn't enforced, but I often open up a JB and there's only enough free length to hook the first wire on, then the receptacle is held so close to the JB you don't have enough slack to move it around and hook any other wires on.

I understand that I could pigtail, but even though I realize that pigtails don't count in NEC boxfill calculations, there is a practical consideration that on those little metal boxes -- there's no way you're going to fit two cables and a receptacle and a bunch of pigtails without really bending and jamming those wires in there, risking breaking old brittle insulation. Or breaking the stressed conductors themselves.

I suppose I could wrap the old conductors in electrical tape to protect them, but then I'd need to buy white tape for the neutrals and well, I just don't think it would look too professional. But removing the screws from the new receptacle and then feeding the screws through the wire loops lets the box stay emptier without stressing anything.

Now that I think about it though, those push-on Wagos would probably be a nice solution for pigtailing in this scenario. But more $$$.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 04:33 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,498
Rewards Points: 5,148
Default

Outlet screws?


Buy back wired devices.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Msradell (08-14-2015), Oso954 (08-14-2015), rjniles (08-14-2015), sgip2000 (08-14-2015), tylernt (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 05:04 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 6,010
Rewards Points: 3,472
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Buy back wired devices.
That's all I use.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (08-14-2015)
Old 08-14-2015, 05:18 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 831
Rewards Points: 704
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Buy back wired devices.
that the same as back-stab / push-fit connectors?
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 05:19 PM   #11
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 917
Rewards Points: 1,230
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle2k View Post
that the same as back-stab / push-fit connectors?
Nope. Back-stabs depend on a little spring. Back-wire connections are a compression connection that clamp down on the wire with a screwdriver. Very solid, much stronger.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 05:26 PM   #12
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 3,043
Rewards Points: 3,972
Default

Outlet screws?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
That's all I use.
+1

Not just because of the back wire, but because they are commercial grade.

Advertisement

Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Msradell (08-14-2015)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Bathroom GFCI Outlet trouble RyG1357 Electrical 3 08-20-2011 04:40 PM
Drywall nail types kevsprojects Drywall & Plaster 23 07-31-2011 08:34 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts