Outlet Question. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2010, 04:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet question.


I bought a nightlight outlet: http://www.lowes.com/pd_116414-1571-...true$Ntt=night light outlet at lowes to replace an outlet in my hallway. On the soon to be old outlet it has 4 wires (2 white and 2 black). On the soon to be new nightlight outlet,it has only 2 places to screw the wires onto(one white and one black). Can I put the two black wires together and put them onto the new outlet and vice-versa? I tried putting one white onto it and one black onto it and capping the left over white and black wire. When I did that it did not work. Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

sanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 04:44 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

outlet question.


You can not put two wires under one screw. You will have to get two pieces of wire, one black and one white, the same size as what is in the box, and pigtail these to the wires in the box. Then put the pigtail under the screw.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 05:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
You can not put two wires under one screw. You will have to get two pieces of wire, one black and one white, the same size as what is in the box, and pigtail these to the wires in the box. Then put the pigtail under the screw.
So what you are saying is that the white and black wire that are NOT connected to the new outlet need to be pigtailed together and have a cap put on?
sanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 06:12 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

outlet question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanman View Post
So what you are saying is that the white and black wire that are NOT connected to the new outlet need to be pigtailed together and have a cap put on?
No, definitely not. The two black wires that are in the box need to be connected together with a wire nut, along with a short length of black wire to connect to the gold screw on your new outlet.

Same with the white wires, connect them together, along with a short length of white wire to connect to the silver screw on the new outlet.

One black/white pair of wires is bringing power into the box, the other pair is carrying power through to the next outlet on the circuit.

Make sense?
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 06:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
No, definitely not. The two black wires that are in the box need to be connected together with a wire nut, along with a short length of black wire to connect to the gold screw on your new outlet.

Same with the white wires, connect them together, along with a short length of white wire to connect to the silver screw on the new outlet.

One black/white pair of wires is bringing power into the box, the other pair is carrying power through to the next outlet on the circuit.

Make sense?
Ahhhhhhhhhhh yes...I see the light says the blind man..... Thank you
sanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 03:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlet question.


woohoooooooo it works! Thanks for the help.

Advertisement

sanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI outlet question tripower Electrical 2 06-15-2010 09:27 AM
Outlet and Switch question ich00 Electrical 3 05-04-2010 05:02 PM
Replacing a section of copper pipe to a Gas Water Heater outlet Question F150dad77 Plumbing 4 10-07-2009 09:32 AM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 09:42 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts