Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 10:43 PM   #31
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Thanks for the reply, Nap. I think I understand it now. Simply measure 12' from receptacle to receptacle along an unbroken wall, so that at any point along the wall would be accessible to a 6' cord, and the presence of a corner doesn't end that wall space.
by George, I think he's got it.

and as Joed stated (and others including Dave), that is an absolute minimum. From personal experience, I feel that is far too far apart. Too many times I've looked for a recep and it was just too far away for what I wanted.

I suggest just installing that 4" tall wiremold stuff all the way around the room with continual receps.



I was thinking...maybe that can be recessed so it doesn't protrude from the wall. You can run a of piece conduit through the studs and use 14 1/2" pieces between the studs but leave the cover long enough so it will be continual.

wow, between that and AFCI circuits, I will only add about $5k to the average house.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:53 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
by George, I think he's got it.

and as Joed stated (and others including Dave), that is an absolute minimum. From personal experience, I feel that is far too far apart. Too many times I've looked for a recep and it was just too far away for what I wanted.

I suggest just installing that 4" tall wiremold stuff all the way around the room with continual receps.



I was thinking...maybe that can be recessed so it doesn't protrude from the wall. You can run a of piece conduit through the studs and use 14 1/2" pieces between the studs but leave the cover long enough so it will be continual.

wow, between that and AFCI circuits, I will only add about $5k to the average house.
Well now that Wiremold stuff running through studs (and behind sheetrock??) is wayyyyyy over my head. There has to be a reason why we don't want to see the pretty molding ... wait ... wait <bulb is lighting up!!> at the risk of going back off-track, the wiremoldy stuff is prewired ain't it??
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:26 PM   #33
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
, the wiremoldy stuff is prewired ain't it??
No. it is merely a rectangular conduit that has accessories to be able to install a receptacle anywhere along it's run. You still have to put the wire in it.

but no, not behind sheetrock. I would mount it flush with the sheetrock. You need to be able to take the front of it off.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 12:04 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
wow, between that and AFCI circuits, I will only add about $5k to the average house.
I kick myself in the azz everytime I think about my life as a deadbeat kid on the streets, and how it never occurred to me to get into a trade such as this. My interest in this came too late. If I could only know then what I know now. Oh well ... live and learn, I guess.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:28 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Sorry but I have another question about outlet placement. I read that outlets shouldn't be above baseboard heat due to the possibility of wires being draped over the heated element. I have a gas fired boiler that runs hot water through baseboard heat exchangers in my house. They run the entire length of the wall. The heat exchangers are covered by metal shields that prevent you from touching the fins of the heat exchanger directly but the metal shields do get hot to the touch as well. Will there be an issue with this?
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:50 AM   #36
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


the restriction against plug above electric baseboards applies only to electric.

Hot water is ok.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:16 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


I have the same system in my house. It's not the best idea to put it above the heaters, but it's not illegal. I try to avoid it because some of the crappy wire used on appliances can melt at 220 deg F. (Yes, pressurized water can go over 212.) It's unlikely, and should be fine, but if you can avoid it, it'd be better to put an outlet on either side of the heating elements.

I have a 220V outlet right under the window, above the heater, for an AC unit. (Hot water just don't cut it in the summer, and no ductwork to install central AC.) However, this is a) only for the AC unit, and b) only used when the heat is off.

I have another I usually keep the shop vac plugged into all year, right over the element. In fact, I had to trim the cover plate to get it on, it's so close (no I didn't put that one in). It's a good, Rigid-brand shop vac, and I'm positive the cord can probaly withstand twice the temp the heater puts out, I have no problems.

I guess just be careful, if you get some of those little wall-warts charging your MP3 player with tinsel cord, I'd bet they could melt easily. Most UL rated lamps and stuff you'd leave plugged in all the time, just make sure they aren't cheap carp and wired with the worst possible wire. I've never had a problem, even with kids plugging stuff in and not paying attention, but I think I only have the two outlets over the top like that.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:55 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Good deal. Thank you both for the quick replies!
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 03:56 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


NP. I just noticed, my TV / entertainment center is also on one of these outlets, as well as another nearby one I don't use. I have the electric plugged into a good surge protector, though, so that's the only cord likely to heat up. I also have a lot of speaker wires and such running near the heat, but they're Bose and I expect decent performance from them. Plus, they're underneath and heat rises.

I haven't had any problems, but am paranoid. Speaker wires aren't going to hurt anyone, though, just be annoying and expensive if melted.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:18 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


This is a good thread, very informative.

Can I add something?

Looking at the door to the bedroom going left....
I put the first receptacle about 2 feet from the door...
All the way around the room it is all good...
Here is my problem... The last receptacle is on the 3rd wall 2 feet from the corner of the 4th wall...
The 4th wall is plaster on brick and about 10 feet long from the corner so 12 feet from the door...
I could add a receptacle on the 4th wall in the baseboard but it would be about 7 feet from the door...
I don't know what to do...what would you do?
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:22 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Oh yeah, I live in Pittsburgh
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:07 AM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Frist, I don't know PA at all, just the national code.

Second, the placement is a minimum at 12'. If you have 2 10' walls, put an outlet in the middle of both, you get 5' instead of 6', but it looks even.

You don't have to count the small walls, so if you have a 2' wall next to the door- skip it, start counting from the corner. If you have a 10' wall with a 3' door in the center, that leaves 3' to either side of the door. I think it's 2' you don't need an outlet, I'd need to look it up, you'd have to count those. If you had a 7' wall, you'd have 2' on either side of that door, and wouldn't count them.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:20 AM   #43
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


You are either misinformed, wrong, or I am interpreting your post wrong. You do have to count "small walls". If there is wallspace 2' or more, it needs an outlet.

EX...Two closets side by side with 2' of wall between them. This scenario needs a receptacle between the closets.

Let's take your example of a 7' wall with a door in the middle. The two feet on either side would either need a receptacle, or if that 2' formed a corner with another wall, then the 2' would count as wallspace. In this example you would need a receptacle within 4' of that corner.

In EdwardButters situation, he would need a receptacle within 6' of the door. No ifs, ands, or butts about it.

Here is another situation that you may not think needs a receptacle.

2 story house. The stairs to the second floor go up to a loft type sitting area. The stairway has open railing around it. That bannister surrounding the stairs would be considered wallspace and need floor receptacles with proper spacing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
bbo (02-06-2013)
Old 02-06-2013, 07:00 AM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


Thanks k-buz. I don't know how to solve my problem.

This is an old house that I'm re-wiring. In this bedroom is one wall that is brick with plaster on it so I can't put an outlet in the middle where would be best But what I can do is put one on the baseboard right at the floor because there is no brick behind this spot. The thing is that spot measures about 6 and a half feet from the door. So I don't know what to do. I can put the receptacle near the floor right? But what about the fact that it is just over six feet from the door?

If I measure from this spot on the baseboard past the door to the receptacle on the other side of the door it is less than ten feet but that doesn't matter huh?

Do I have to have the receptacle box on the outside of the wall? Is that even allowed or am I forced to somehow bust through the brick?

What would you do?
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:03 AM   #45
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outlet placement


hey k_buzz, what code version did the "bannnister rule" come into play?

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code requirements for outlet placement WillK Electrical 8 11-30-2010 08:16 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Outlet placement suggestions jamiedolan Electrical 13 02-24-2009 09:42 AM
GF Outlet Placement jamiedolan Electrical 26 11-17-2008 01:56 PM
Code for Outlet Placement in Basement redbandit Electrical 5 01-02-2008 10:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.