Outlet Placement - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 07:19 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
I guess I am confused by the language in the code. So I start from the door (or whatever) and measure 6 feet and make a mark. Then I move 12 feet down and make another mark. When I get to a corner I turn the corner and continue measuring 12 feet from the previous outlet? So lets say hypothetically I have a room that measures 15 feet by 12 feet with no doors or windows or anything other than wall. I start at the corner of a 15 foot wall. I measure 6 feet and mark a spot for an outlet. I then measure 12 feet which would put me 3 feet into my second wall (6 + 12 -15) and mark the 2nd outlet. I then measure 12 more feet which would put me 3 feet into my 3rd wall (3 + 12 -12) and mark the location of my 3rd outlet. I then measure 12 more feet which would put me right at the corner of my 3rd and 4th wall (3 + 12 - 15) and mark the spot for a 4th outlet. I would then need one more outlet 12 more feet away at the corner of my 1st and 4th walls to meet the requirement of having no spot more than 6 feet from any wall. Am I adding this correctly?
Since there is no door to use as a starting point, you pick a spot and mount your first receptacle. Then you measure 12 feet (or less) from there to your next receptacle, then 12 feet (or less) again, etc etc, until you get back to the first receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:25 PM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
The reason it is a big deal is because I have a 15 foot wall and the builder placed the outlet roughly right in the center of the wall. That means that on that wall, there is a 1 1/2 foot section at each end that is farther than 6 feet from the receptacle that is placed in the middle of the wall. So I just want to make sure that the 1 1/2 foot section at each end can, by code, be serviced by a receptacle on an adjoining wall if it is within 6 feet (in other words within 4 1/2 feet of the shared corner between the two walls).
That is correct. The wall measurement continues around the corner.
The 3 foot wall in the example does not require a receptacle if there is one on the adjoining wall that is within 6 feet because the wall continues around the corner. If there was a door on either side of the 3 foot wall then it needs a receptacle. You don't want cords going across doorways if someone put a lamp or TV etc on that wall
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:27 PM   #18
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


ITS TWO FOOT WALL
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:33 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet placement


I think this all makes sense now. Thanks everyone for clearing it up for me!
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:13 PM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
The requirement for a plug on any wall 24in wide is because wall space does not continue across doors. so using you example of a small wall between two closet doors.
I agree but you guys do a poor job of explaining why it is requried.

It is because the code requires a recep in any wall space to be no more than 12 feet from another recep in that wall space.

As you stated later, it is a 2 foot wall.

So, in a room with a closet and a door, there will be 2 wall (spaces (presuming at least 2 feet of wall between each door)). Each of them is treated as an individual wall (space). In a room with 5 closets with at least 2' walls between each closet, (and a door of course (with no less than 2 feet between it and any closet door)) there would be 5 wall spaces.



but regardless, in the OP's example of the 12'X3' room, there still does not have to be a recep on the 3' wall , unless the a layout specifically places one there. It would be possible to place receps in that room with none being placed on either 3' wall.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:09 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I agree but you guys do a poor job of explaining why it is requried.

It is because the code requires a recep in any wall space to be no more than 12 feet from another recep in that wall space.

As you stated later, it is a 2 foot wall.

So, in a room with a closet and a door, there will be 2 wall (spaces (presuming at least 2 feet of wall between each door)). Each of them is treated as an individual wall (space). In a room with 5 closets with at least 2' walls between each closet, (and a door of course (with no less than 2 feet between it and any closet door)) there would be 5 wall spaces.



but regardless, in the OP's example of the 12'X3' room, there still does not have to be a recep on the 3' wall , unless the a layout specifically places one there. It would be possible to place receps in that room with none being placed on either 3' wall.
Nap,

I'm confused. Do you agree that the measurements continue around corners?

I don't understand why a 3' wall wouldn't require a receptacle, given the code language.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:14 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Nap,

I'm confused. Do you agree that the measurements continue around corners?

I don't understand why a 3' wall wouldn't require a receptacle, given the code language.
It would require a receptacle if any point on the wall is farther than 6 feet from the nearest receptacle.
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:18 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
It would require a receptacle if any point on the wall is farther than 6 feet from the nearest receptacle.
It sounded like Nap was defining a wall space as being one separate wall. That's how I always understood it, but now I am confused. For example, a wall that is 15' wide is one wall space, and an adjoining wall would be considered a separate space, requiring the measurement to begin again.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:28 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
It sounded like Nap was defining a wall space as being one separate wall. That's how I always understood it, but now I am confused. For example, a wall that is 15' wide is one wall space, and an adjoining wall would be considered a separate space, requiring the measurement to begin again.
It sounds to me like a wall space would begin and terminate at a door (or anything else that you wouldn't usually pass a cord across).
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:43 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
It sounds to me like a wall space would begin and terminate at a door (or anything else that you wouldn't usually pass a cord across).
well, I guess that's the obviously rational answer. Sometimes I try to read too much into a sentence.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:45 PM   #26
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
It sounded like Nap was defining a wall space as being one separate wall. That's how I always understood it, but now I am confused. For example, a wall that is 15' wide is one wall space, and an adjoining wall would be considered a separate space, requiring the measurement to begin again.
a wall space is not a separate wall. It is an independent and continuous wall (at the floor line). You start measuring at a door opening (or other interruption as stated in the code) and run until you come to another door opening et al. That is a wall space. Then, beginning on the other side of the door opening, you begin a new wall space and so on until you circumnavigate the room.

yes, measurements continue around a corner.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:49 PM   #27
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I don't understand why a 3' wall wouldn't require a receptacle, given the code language.
if it was an independent wall space, it would. If it was merely 3' within a larger wall space, it may or may not depending on how things were laid out. Any wall less than 12' could be without a receptacle as long as the receps on either side of that wall section were no more than 12' apart from each other. If a wall was over 12' long, it would be impossible to not place a recep on that wall as it would be impossible to have 2 receps on adjacent walls that were no more than 12' from each other as measured across that wall.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:08 PM   #28
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Outlet placement


Also make it clear the 6' and 12' distances are the maximum. You can have any distance you want if it is less those measurements.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:09 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


Thanks for the reply, Nap. I think I understand it now. Simply measure 12' from receptacle to receptacle along an unbroken wall, so that at any point along the wall would be accessible to a 6' cord, and the presence of a corner doesn't end that wall space.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:12 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outlet placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Also make it clear the 6' and 12' distances are the maximum. You can have any distance you want if it is less those measurements.
Absolutely. I sometimes put in more than is required by those maximums.

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code requirements for outlet placement WillK Electrical 8 11-30-2010 09:16 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Outlet placement suggestions jamiedolan Electrical 13 02-24-2009 10:42 AM
GF Outlet Placement jamiedolan Electrical 26 11-17-2008 02:56 PM
Code for Outlet Placement in Basement redbandit Electrical 5 01-02-2008 11:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts