Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2006, 07:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


I purchased a pitching machine for a backyard batting cage. The machine requires a dedicated 20a circuit. The outlet would be about 150 feet from the panel box so is 10 gauge wire enough or should I use a larger gauge? My home is located in NC. Also assuming that 10ga is acceptable would 10/3 be required or is 10/2 acceptable?

NREMTP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 08:08 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


Knowing the actual amperage and voltage would help us determine if this is OK.
If it is 120v or 240v 2-wire is fine. If it is 120/240v (which I doubt) then 3-wire would be required.

#10 is probably just borderline acceptable.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 10:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


Just curious; why would you think you need 10/3?

Also at a 150 feet are you running conduit? It's just that the xx/3 term is usually used with romex, or do you have some sort of direct bury cable?
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 07:27 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


The voltage for the pitching machine is 120V. and I will be using direct bury cable. If 10 gauge is baely acceptable what is a good source for 8ga? I can't find it at home depot or lowes. Would graybar carry this size wire?

Dwayne
NREMTP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 05:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


If the machine says you only need a 20 amp receptacle, then you'll be fine with the 10/2 cable.

If you went with wire bigger than that you'd probably have to use conduit or do a special order.
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 06:26 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


We still do not know the amperage of this machine. 120v is only half the equasion.

Joe, how can you say that? What if this thing draws 15 amps? It is possible.

#10, @ 15 amps, @ 120v, @ 150' is still almost a 5% drop.

NRE, while I do also recommend conduit, 8/2 UF is typically available at a real electrical supply house. Only thing is you'll need special lugs or terminals to connect #8 to a device. That, or tail #10 to the receptacle.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


or even tail #12

I'm just going on the fact that the equipment said a 20amp, which you're right, it probably draws 15 or 16 amps.

Still though, as I've asked twice now before, what constant do you use for 75c copper Pete?

Last edited by Sparky Joe; 06-26-2006 at 10:40 PM.
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:56 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


I smell bait.....

OK. I'll bite. What do you mean by "constant"?
I use Ch.9, Table 9 for conductor properties.
#12cu is 2Ω/1000ft.
#10cu is 1.2Ω/1000ft.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 06:24 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


The K I use and is stated in my book dosen't say anything about conductor temp.
I use K=12.9
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 07:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


Pete check this out, it's from a site you gave me http://www.mikeholt.com/code_forum/s...ad.php?t=78454

Ever used the formula 2KIL/Cmil to find voltage drop?

But I suppose if you have to refer to code for Cmil's then you might as well use table 8 chapter 9, unless you're using large wire(250MCM and above)
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 08:02 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


I use the same method as Mr. Holland's when I need to (VD = I X R).
I rarely have to accurately calculate VD manually so I do not have this stuff in my head. If I am unsure in the field I'll do a quick calc but I typically just upsize the wire. If I have time to calculate in the office I have several calculators on my computer and online.
I like math and can do most anything manually, but after doing bills, taxes, sales tax, etc. the last thing I want to do is figure out something by hand while a program is two clicks away. To me that is like doing long division by hand with a calculator on my desk. I know I can do it but why bother.


Are you implying that having this information in memory is better than having to look up the values for different types of wire on the rare occasion that you need it?
I know a lot of what is in the code book, but I don't have those numbers in my head.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 06:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Outlet for pitching machine outdoors


No just the formulas, I'd never attempt to memorize even half the stuf in the code book. Just try to rememeber the odd ones.

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Electrical outlet hook up. helpless handyman Electrical 4 07-30-2007 08:18 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.